Forgotten Games: Primal Rage - One Of The First Games I Fell In Love With

in #gaming7 years ago

img rage

The first new gaming system I ever owned was a Sega Genesis, and I played the crap out of it. Primal Rage was one of my favorite titles for the console. I was also a little obsessed with dinosaurs, and so this arcade port made my tiny child brain explode. I was first introduced to it as an arcade game. My mom would drop a handful of quarters into my hand, and I would gleefully race off to the game room to mash buttons while she played pool. I was too short to reach the controls, but one of the employees at wherever we were had brought over a stool for me to stand on. I still love this thing, and one day I'm going to buy one of these glorious machines to have in my house. (Many arcade machines can be had on ebay if you're interested in one for yourself.)

img arcade

Not long after that I got a Sega for Christmas, and Primal Rage was one of the first games I wanted. After Sonic of course which I was also obsessed with. While the game itself is not extensive in game play nor is it a massive RPG with a thrilling story it is a fun fighting game. You can choose between seven fighters, and then proceed to dominate your opponent with a variety of special moves unique to your character. (Diablo and Talon are my favorites.)

fight

Like most early 90's fighting games, Primal Rage features the familiar special moves templates of the time a long with special fatality moves you can execute if your timing is good. There will be a brief pause where when your opponent's health is emptied, they will stand still, and then you can then execute your finisher. The attacks vary by character, and it's fun to find ways to string these abilities together to add to your favorite character's arsenal.

img sauron

Unfortunately, this series was short lived. While there was a sequel in the works it never made it to release, and I'm super bummed about that. I was also a little surprised considering the original game was successful enough that a series of collectible toys were made. I owned a couple of them myself at one time.

img talon

I took a stroll down memory lane the other day, and I played this game again. It's still as fun to me as ever. Whether due to nostalgia or because the game really is that good I can't say, but it's one of my all time favorite titles, and I really do plan to own the arcade version some day. Where I'm going to actually put it? Who knows, but I'm getting it! As a kid, and even now as an adult I guess I thought owning an arcade machine would be the coolest thing. Who needs practical when you have an arcade machine.

Sort:  

This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , Comment when ever you can.
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Read by Clicking

Your post has been chosen by Steemit Gaming Support!

For more information check out this post! https://steemit.com/gamingsupport/@cheaky/steemit-gaming-support-june-23rd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42