The top 5 games I've ever played.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. This is my first post on Steemit and as a sort of introduction to the gaming community on here I wanted to do something a little fun in honor of that and E3. Everyone's life gaming experience is different, and many of us have played different games and holds to heart that others may not.

So here are the top 5 games I have ever played.

Honorable Mention

  • Goldeneye - N64

The first of two games I am sure many people can think back on and have some very fond memories, and maybe a bit unoriginal of a pick. The late nights with friends, the winner gets to use the Gold Controller. Proximity mines, Oddjob, paintball mode, big head mode, all come to mind when I think back on those nights. It wasn't just the multiplayer that was good either, I remember playing through the campaign several times over and finding different ways to do things, and always being amazed when I leaped from the dam.

5 - WCW/NWO Revenge - N64

During a time when pro wrestling was huge in pop culture, came the game that entertained me and my friends for hours on end. Revenge built upon what worked in World Tour and made it better. There's really not much to say about it other than it was just tons of fun brutally beating each other up in it and it was a really easy game to get into.

4 - Final Fantasy 9 - Playstation

I may lose all credibility here, but I was a little late to the party with Final Fantasy. My cousin was very into the franchise since it's early days in Nintendo, but not me. It wasn't until he allowed me to borrow Final Fantasy 9 that I latched onto it. First off, something about characters with tails has always been cool to me. It was Vivi during the cinematic where he is running on the rooftops that made him one of my favorite characters in all of gaming. It had a story that was easy to follow, as well as care about. Summoning was also one of the coolest experiences I had in gaming at the time, Odin, Leviathan, or Bahamut roar through the clouds was an intense feeling.

3 - World of Warcraft - PC

I had a few friends who were really big into WoW while I was in the military. I was into partying and actually poked fun at them when they would rather stay in and play it than go out and do something. It wasn't until I got out of the military that I found myself bored one day and noticed the ad to try it for free on my browser. I tried it, and that same day was out at the store buying it and up to the current expansion at the time. It's hard to explain the feeling when I first started, it was all so new to me. Once I started forming friendships and taking advantage of the content they had to offer it went to a whole different level. I still play it to this day, less often, but it's a game I think I will play until it eventually dies out. I started during the end of Wrath of the Lich King, so I missed out on the golden ages as some would say. My first character was a male Blood Elf Warlock. Eventually I switched to a Draenie Hunter, that was until I saw a Tauren Death Knight on his Acherus Charger mount, and had to have one, and so I did once I hit 55.

2 - Red Dead Redemption - Xbox 360

I just happened to borrow Red Dead from my brother in law. At the time I wasn't even really aware of it. That changed so quickly. To me this game was everything that it should have been. A deep story with a main character I grew to really care about. A huge open world to explore where you got to meet some interesting characters, and the game was able to use those characters to bring out just about every emotion, happy, sad, and had humor sprinkled all over the place as well. It was just done so well in a genre you really don't see that often, western, and less often done so well. I still pop it on the backward compatibility on xbox one now and then to enjoy it.

With that, I have a question (if you guys have read this far!!). Do you think games like GTA V or the upcoming Red Dead 2 would benefit from co-op campaigns, or would it hurt the game? I have always said I think co-op would work wonders in a game like GTA V, but I am not sure if I am in the minority, so I am just interested in what others think.

1 - The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

This is of course the other unoriginal pick. It has to be number one on this list though. I don't know how many times I missed my bus for school because I lost track of time in the morning playing, and then picking it right back up when I got home on days I didn't miss it. At that time such a large world was new, and I felt like I had to explore every inch of it. The story was painfully simple, but so good at the same time. It wasn't cluttered with too much content, it had one focus with a few things to do on the side, but with all of those things being quite interesting. It's another game I still play today on my 3DS and it hasn't lost a bit of it's flavor in my opinion, while less challenging than it was back then, it still keeps me interested and glued to it.

If you made it this far, thank you for reading. Let me know your own top 5 in the comments.

I can be found @

@Macguffinstv - Twitter
youtube.com/ragenerdhd
twitch.tv/macguffinstv

Sort:  

Thanks man! i been searching for this kind of post since i am on steemit. Thank you and keep up the good work

Thanks. Do you mean you have been looking for top 5's and top 10's? I have been thinking about doing more.

Goldeneye N64 was the first video game i ever played. Set the bar kind of high for that being my fist game back when i was a kid.

I want to say the first video game I ever played was 1942 for the NES. I actually bought it at Game Exchange just to have it because of that! Goldeneye was such a blast though.

Ocarina of Time, some of the greatest moments of my gaming history. The soundtrack can take me back to those times so easily.

My jaw dropped when I saw Revenge! I wore that game to the nub. While I think there are other games better, it still has a golden place in my heart.

Ocarina and Goldeneye are the perfect choices. I'm glad you didn't shy away from the clichés.

I never played the other two, unless 9 was the one with the card collecting game in it.

I'm following you because of this post. Keep Steeming!

I believe it was Final Fantasy 9 that featured the card collecting. It was called Tetra Master, had to look it up actually, couldn't remember. Thanks for the comment and follow. Definitely better games critically than Revenge, but the insane times I had in it on a regular basis can't be ignored lol.

Congratulations @macguffinstv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76