Life is Feudal - what's it like ?

in #gaming7 years ago

1200px-Life_is_Feudal_MMO.png

Hi guys
So some of my gaming mates roped me into this, I'm a VERY avid ARK player so survival games are kinda my thing. I love the grindyness and all. I hope to give you guys a realistic expectation of the game.

Life is feudal was released to steam now, so I though I would give those interested some insight to my experiences playing it.

You basically start off basically naked with nothing as any other survival game, the USP of this game is mostly that everything is extremely difficult. To perform tasks you need to level up skills which can take up to weeks.
Furthermore the map only has so many resources, if you cut a tree down it won't grow back till someone plants a new one. To do this you need to harvest a sprout from an existing matured tree and get the appropriate soil, then wait about 1-2 weeks in real life for the new tree to grow up.

The game has its moments, it brings an entirely new dynamic to ingame politics and its quite an open 'sandbox' enviroment. Very similar to EVE Online in some ways.

I was the lucky one in my tribe to be the "tree guy". Starting off the game my mates told me to meet them at block 23.

download.jpg

I was "Lucky" to spawn at 39. Crossing one of these blocks takes about 30 minutes. Where you need to somehow scavenge for food to stay alive on the way. About 4 hours laterI finally make it to 24, and boom a wolf kills me.. "lets respawn I guess"
I was then "lucky" again and spawned at block 4. Long story short 5 hours or so later I make it there, thinking "yes now we can start playing the game"

Turns out to have spawn points at your base takes quite a bit of progression. Some nearby tribes cut down 99% of the trees which is when my lucky "tree guy" role began. Struggling with incomplete wikis I later realise I need to level my Natures lore and farming to 30 to start planting trees.

The following 1 week in real life I played when i got time. The game was "highly" interactive.( you right click some ground and gather plant fiber )
Great, Natures lore is levelled, then to go for farming :

The game looks like this:
Untitled.png
You occupy yourself with other things like this when you level skills:
CastleLagerandGlass2016.jpg

Once that was done, I had a nice FML moment, seems I need Natures lore to 60 and farming to 60. Rinse and repeat the previous stages.... yaaay.

Finally after playing the game for 2 weeks I am able to plant a tree, woopie.

We are now at a stage where we can kinda start doing stuff and farming things. Although local ingame political situations have popped up and things are turning hostile.
For my role the game will basically be replacing the cut down trees and thats it. You are very limited in the skillpoints you can acquire, as you can see below I'm almost maxed out and I can only sorta plant trees.

This is definitely a different game, for a real specific kind of person. I love grindy stuff but in my opinion its just too much and your character will always be limited to doing only one or two things. It had its good moments though.

This post is starting to turn into a novel already, the other downside was that it was almost always bugged, frequently you need to download an update twice because it didnt load (it has a TON of updates), or you start the game and it just never loads into the game. It somehow makes my laptop run even hotter than when I mine electroneum too.

Hope this gave you guys an idea of what its about as its coming to steam soon afaik. I personally got over this quite quickly. ARK seems to still be king of survival games for me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ltmotion, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @ltmotion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66