Skills Learned in MMORPG's Can Transfer to Workforce Skills

in #gaming6 years ago

New_WorldOfWarcraft_logo_small.png

I have contemplated over this topic for several years. If anyone knows me they know I like to play World of Warcraft (WoW) as a hobby of mine. I know this is not the most constructive use of my off time but I do see a lot of good from playing MMORPG computer games. After contemplating this issue I have found a few good reasons why I play this game and how it could benefit my job portfolio.

A little history behind my WoW career I started playing back in the first phase of the friends and family alpha test of the original WoW game. Originally my dad got given this code and I shared an account with my brother. Since then I have played WoW faithfully since I was a young kid and have sunk an amazing amount of time into this game and play very competitively.

Back to the main topic since you now know where I am coming from. What possible skills could come from playing an MMORPG computer game? My wife thinks it’s childish that I still play this game but there are millions who still play this game. There are many skills you are developing while playing games like this besides hand eye coordination. Games like WoW build way more skills than just hand eye coordination. In fact these games have many skills employers actually look for;

  • Team Building
  • Leadership
  • Time Management
  • Working in a Dynamic Group
  • Dealing with Difficult People

These are just a few things but there are others like computer skills and typing and so forth but these were what I felt like were really big topics.

• Team Building – This is quite obvious when you play these types of games you work as a team by joining a clan or guild. Not only are you devoting your time to develop relationships like when you are new and just joined a new job and are meeting new co-workers trying to find where you fit in. You also have to find where you fit on the team. You also have to prove yourself and show what you can bring to the table.

• Leadership – Once you find your place on the team and build yourself up by learning everything around you over the years of being at this employer eventually at some point you will be in a leadership role. You can learn these skills the same way in MMORPG’s by either starting a guild and running your own or joining a guild and earn your way up to an officer rank. This will teach you with greater rank that you have more responsibility and you have to be on top of your game that much more than the rest of your team. A lot like at the manager level in most companies. You have to be a self-starter no one tells you what you need to do or looks over your shoulder they just tell you what is expected and you do it and complete your projects using the team you created.

• Time Management – This is not rocket science you have to show up on time to raids or your likely to lose your raiding spot or you will get docked at least in your superior’s minds. Just like in the corporate environment you are expected to show up on time and if you can’t you need to at least let people know at work at the very least an hour before your shift.

• Working in a Dynamic Group - This is obvious as well you join a guild or clan with a group with every individual with different world views. Some you will find that you like and some you cannot stand. But you join together for a common goal to kill bosses. Or in the real world where you hold a job you have no choice usually on what group is brought or created. But you are supposed to work together not matter what you guys personally think to complete the company’s projects.

• Dealing with Difficult People – This is may not seem to clear at first but being able to work with difficult people in video games is the exact same way you deal with them at work. When your hired onto a team you have no idea what you are walking into whether you were hired over someone or stole someone’s promotion. Either way you are bound to deal with difficult co-workers and some jobs difficult clients or customers are who you working with. The best way to learn is to get into situations with difficult people which is exactly what you learn first when joining an MMROPG because there are many of them in most communities.

These are not every skill that transfers over there are many others that can as well. But for the basic this will apply to almost any job you are applying for and I recommend putting these on your resume and even having a hobbies section with explanations of how you obtained these skills and years of experience in games to learn these. Sorry this post is long winded but it’s a topic I am very passionate about and I hope at some point to have this exposed to the corporate world. There are many hidden skills out there and video gaming might seem pointless but many skills like these directly transfer into the “Real World” so to speak.
If you like content like this make sure to Upvote and leave me your personal feelings in a comment below!

Stay Connected:

Website: http://wealthyexperience.com
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@ksmiller88
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MrSquishy06

upvote-follow-resteeem.gif

Sort:  

Some will say there isn't good to be learned from gaming but I have to agree with you there are some things that can transfer to the workplace.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was payed by @greetbot
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Hi. I am @greetbot - a bot that uses AI to look for newbies who write good content.
I found your post and decided to help you get noticed.
I will pay a resteeming service to resteem your post,
and I'll give you my stamp of automatic approval!
greetbot's stamp of approval

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90