WTF is Drugwars?

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

image.png

DrugsWars is currently trending on dapp listing sites such as SteemApps and State of the DApps. Had a little chat with @lpfaust today telling him that I think this game may catch on and he was like WTF is Drug Wars? So here are some of my thoughts on it.

Make more drugs, make more Steem.

Everybody's a virtual druglord in DrugWars. You make drugs. I make drugs. They make drugs. Everybody's just making drugs around the clock, 24/7. The game is at its heart, a management simulator like Farmville, except that it comically looks like the Deep Web. So in order to advance, you have the choice to do the following:-

  • Upgrade various facilities from crackhouses to castles to increase your production yield over time for any of the three main resources: drugs, weapons, alcohol. These are the exact same resources required for everything you spend on in the game.
  • Build your own private army. All they need are weapons and alcohol at the moment. I'd say they're quite a professional bunch for staying away from drugs.
  • Attack other players. Just make sure your private army can take them on in numbers and you'll be able to steal their resources.

Maybe the developers will add more features soon, but that's about the gist of the game at the moment. Ultimately, just invest your resources wisely and make more drugs!

image.png

Is it pay-to-win?

This is the interesting part of Drug Wars. For everything you can spend using drugs, weapons, and alcohol on in the game, you can opt for paying in Steem instead. Doing so will enable you to upgrade your facilities and build your private army instantly. It's like a shortcut to improve your empire and thus, have an effect on the Steem rewards you get out of the game.

I've only spent a couple of hours inspecting the way it works, so don't quote me on this: my personal ballpark assessment of the costs & benefits for spending Steem on the game stops at about ~300-400 Steem at time of writing. For a single account anyway.

image.png

Here's my simplistic handle on the economics of the game. Upgrading a pharmaceutical lab from level 0 to level 1 costs $2.5 to produce 24.19k drugs / day, but going just from level 4 to level 5 costs $27 to produce only 120.96k drugs / day. Hence, it looks like the daily rewards of this game do not efficiently go to those who spend a lot of Steem on just pumping one massive account or two to god-tier level. The game instead, distributes its daily rewards more to the rest of the (smaller) players that don't even have to spend any Steem playing the game. That's how it looks like to me anyway.

At the moment, the account I've spent about 300-400 Steem on is currently producing ~150,000 drugs / day and is going to get 8 Steem in rewards today. Comparatively, a fresh account which I've spent ZERO Steem on is currently producing ~350 drugs / day and is going to get 0.018 Steem in rewards today. Way less rewards than if I spent Steem of course. But that's 0.018 Steem rewards / 0 Steem spent, which equates to "infinite" Steem rewards per Steem spent..

Misc thoughts.

I'm not sure how the rewards are being calculated and distributed, but there aren't any on-chain "smart contracts" behind this. Just like bidbots and other games on Steem, there's a reliance on a trusted third party here to keep scores honestly. However, I expect that having the game using the blockchain does it make audit-able to a certain degree, assuming the developers have been addressing the relevant interfaces. So play at your own risk!

Let's have fun.

It should be fun to gang around whacking each other in the future lol. I'm current playing on my rebel-account @etherpunk and here's my referral link if you feel like making me rich: https://staging.drugwars.io/#!/ref/@etherpunk


Disclaimer: Not to be taken as financial advice.
Vote for @kevinwong as your witness today!

Sort:  

It is very hard to fight the urge to spend more Steem on faster upgrades. Very soon the price of production buildings escalates while returns are slowing down, spending 100-200 Steem should be optimal. Later with time and hopefully not too many raids all those production buildings can be upgraded with your own produced resources. This game certainly keeps the mind busy :)

Oddly, being able to upgrade a $10 facility without spending steem feels like free steem lol.

Right, because you can buy everything with Steem it feels like drugs, guns and alcohol are their own crypto tokens. Maybe in the future they could introduce internal trading pairs like Steem/Drugs, Steem/Guns, Steem/Alcohol. Of course with time drugs, guns, alcohol inflation will be huge so there could be billions of tokens making them very cheap... Then there will be no buys on production facilities before you upgrade HQ and storage space.. Devs would still get the Steem from HQ and storage upgrades, while the players could be selling their produced goods, like 100k Alcohol can be sold for 0.5$ making the devs and the players happy. I'm just brainstorming, eventually who knows what road this game will take.

When you think about it one week ago nobody even knew about this game, now the new economy is possibly rising. Exciting times to be in crypto games, and in crypto in general, regardless the price.

That you kept within the “game.”

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've just signed up.

I think it'll be popular.. you don't even really need to do anything very much to get steem rewards. It's a much lower base than even proof of brain dead.

Which makes me think that this has to be in the 'too good to be true' category.

@slobberchops asked the right question - is it sustainable? I think probably not?!?

My stated return just 10* with about 3 steem spent on upgrades. Inteteresting to hear where diminishing marginal returns kick in.

I think it could be very unpleasant for average steemians when Whales start stealing their drugs however!

Posted using Partiko Android

Afaik, Drugwars' reward pool only partially comes from Steem's reward pool through their posts (since they mentioned they're funneling it that way). The majority comes from players who spend Steem to upgrade their stuff.

I only signed up to steemit to play Drug Wars. I think these kinds of games where you can make money are the future.

Yeah I can’t place the exact appeal to the game but it has it nonetheless. It reminds of FOMO3D on the Eth blockchain....

Drugwar seems a like a perpetual money machine because the more players put in the more rewards, the more rewards the more players want to put in and so on... it’s a vicious cycle .... better than crypto kitties or FOMO or even Steem Monsters....

Anyhow... no gangs in the game yet but they’re setting up on the drugwars Discord channel.... check us out, Down With Clowns gang... he he he

Posted using Partiko iOS

My prodigal son to replace the Clown Father has struck again! Rising up through the ranks, almost as fast as drugwars is rising on stateofthedapps.

Once the gangs are released I suspect blood on the street! @kevinwong stop into the discord and the ClownFather will personally sit down with you over a cigar and whiskey my son.

Just yesterday I got myself into this game; So farI like to see where I'm getting to when investing my time instead of adding investments in Steem. However your calculations with 8 steem return per day based on 400 steem investment is actually a nice return; roi = about 50 days

Nah should be way longer than 50 days, since the amount falls off everyday if I dont keep up with my % of the global production, as new players can easily acquire a % at relatively lower costs. Unless the battles can net me more stuff to keep up with the race.

owwww ok, then this game is about distribution of Steem to a wide audience, which in itself is not that bad.I try to do this with my curation as well, spread as much as possible so all those who are in some way active and add value, gets some Steem benefits :)

So now one more big question does your investment worth this roi or better to delegate SP to some services?

Posted using Partiko Android

I just tried to start playing and it's just been sitting on the load screen for five minutes. I guess I'll have to do something productive instead. Who am I kidding, I'm going to get day drunk.

it should work, had the same issue in the beginning!

I just sign-up to see inside of it and to make you rich :)

Posted using Partiko Android

lol thanks and have fun playing!

I've just signed up. I have never heard about this game till now but it sounds quite interesting and fun. I have calculated that in approximately 1.5 month you will receive a complete cashback from your investment and then you will start earning nice amounts per day, after the same time account without any outside founding will have still less than 1steem of profit

it will be longer than 50 days since the rewards drop everyday if i dont keep up!

yep, after the first day it dropped down a quite big %
investing a few steems in the basic buildings, bit of patience and good management is a small tip for someone with a short wallet
honestly i see a way much bigger potential in drugwars than steemonsters

I’ve been curious about this - so thanks for breaking it down in such detail!

np. i thought i was a few days late!

@kevinwong thanks for introducing this game I begin to love it I invert 27 steem and begin to receive 1.6 daily rewards and a reasonable amount of reward from Heist.

Awesome, not too sure how the game will go long-term, but should be fun when batttles are out :)

Yes agree might not be very long term game it's better to take advantage in begining.

Posted using Partiko Android

i got invited but not sure :)

just for fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34