Let’s Talk: Monster Hunter: World Beta

in #gaming7 years ago

Much ‘Beta’ than I expected!

Monster Hunter: World’s second beta dropped and I was lucky enough to catch it this time, as I missed the first one.

I remember seeing this game revealed at E3 and was pretty interested to try it out. I played an old Monster Hunter game on the PS2 way back in the day and it was pretty good; but this game, holy CRAP did it look good.

Well, after playing the Beta for several hours and trying out each of the three included hunts I can safely say it’s good. If the full game is the same but more hunts, more weapons, more customisation and more gear then count me in. I found the game amazing to play, the monsters were huge and epic to fight off against and the world looked beautiful.

Speaking of the monsters, if you’ve ever played Dragon’s Dogma, the game reminds me a lot of that.

Now, I had one minor, small issue with the game. The hunts were on timers. Now, I assume that the full game will not be this way, in fact I pray it isn’t. Not because I didn’t have long enough to kill the monsters, that part was fine, it’s that I wanted to really explore the world and collect resources. I wanted to gather supplies to properly prepare to fight these monsters. Collect and build some explosive arrows, make more barrels or different arrow types for my bow, that sort of thing. I hope to God that in the full game before you go and fight the monsters you have as much time as you want to collect items and prepare to fight the monsters, that would be great.

There’s also the way multiplayer is done, inputting this long code to join friends is a little tedious when I could just invite them through Playstation, but that’s fine. It’s a tiny thing that I don’t dislike, I’d just prefer it to be easier, but am okay with how it is currently.

Now, the combat in this game is top notch. Your hits feel solid, the combos are fun, controls responsive and you never feel like you were caught in bad hit boxes or anything like that.

There was one moment in the game where I was hunting the final monster; I’d just found it and chased it out of a tunnel. We began to fight and I thought it was pretty tough. However, out of nowhere, the first monster you hunt, for most players, if not all, this would be the first major boss you fight in the game. One that may not be too tough, but is certainly a strong enemy. Well, that thing shows up to fight the new monster I was hunting over territory control, and the monster, with little effort, bites down on the first beast’s throat, lifted it in the air and slammed it down into the ground, killing it instantly. Now, if that didn’t hammer the point across that this was one tough bitch, then the 15 minutes of it kicking my sorry little ass sure did.

^Accurate recreation^

And then it bumped into the alpha of the area, some giant dragon, and got smashed into the ground and set on fire. Which was epic to watch. I felt like I was watching Godzilla or something, it was amazing.

This game is full of moments like this though. Where you’re fighting one giant monster and then another one comes in to attack it too. It gives the whole world this sense of realness. A living breathing aspect to the universe you’re inside and makes the game that much more replayable and fun.

The beta for me gets a 9/10, and I’m super excited to buy the full release!

I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone too. It’s shaping up to be the best game of 2018 and we aren’t even there yet.

Also. Cute cat sidekicks.

That is all.

Sort:  

Well fair enough. As long as there is at least SOME way of exploring the open world I’m happy. If timers are hunt exclusive that makes sense and I’m cool with that; I’d just like to see the world open to be explored

If previous titles are any indication, there will definitely be ample time for exploring while doing gathering quests.

The hunts were on timers. Now, I assume that the full game will not be this way, in fact I pray it isn’t.

Have you played other titles in the series? They all feature timed quests. Usually they're much much longer. Like an hour, depending on the quest you're doing. And there are various gathering quests where you can pretty much just explore until you get bored and then hand in a paw pass.

I am also eagerly awaiting the release for this one.

You got my attention! It looks great!

Congratulations @kaelam-uk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56