Can Games Be Too Big?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

I Think So

The Witcher 3, Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag, Far Cry 4, Just Cause 3, Metal Gear Solid V and Grand Theft Auto V.
These are just some of the games in life I have played, thoroughly enjoyed but never finished. But why did I never finish them? In Witcher 3, I have over 40 hours of gameplay, genuinely thought it was a fantastic game but I never finished it. I still own it on Steam but just don’t play it. Why?

Well, I have a question. Is it possible for games to be too big? When I look at games like The Witcher 3 my first thought is how huge this game is. When I look at these huge games I can’t help but feel that there’s too much to do. The game is so big and full of content that I don’t know where to start or what to do.
I feel that some games offer too many options that you end up doing nothing at all.

But is this a bad thing? Should some games have content actively removed to make them smaller so that they’re better? Are some games worse off because of the bundles of extra content they provide?

Well, sometimes yes. However, I don’t think that’s because of the amount of content, but more the quality. For example, Ubisoft open world sandbox games are awful. They have so much to do, but all of it is garbage. Climbing towers, finding collectibles and other petty repetitive sidequests.

But a game like Just Cause 3 or The Witcher have plenty of great side content to be provided and enjoyed, yet it still feels too muddled and colossal to truly sink myself into. So, again I ask:
Does being too big make a game bad?


[Look at all these Quests!]

I think it depends on the type of gamer you are, or just the type of person you are in general. Some people like short linear gaming experiences. Some like simple arcade like gameplay. Some love huge open worlds to explore every single inch of. For me, I personally love big open world games, but I can never play them for long. I can never get too into them or finish their campaigns because there’s just too much to do.

So, I would like to ask other people what THEY think. Can games be too big? Are there any games you just couldn’t finish despite wanting to. Do you think there are any games that would be better if they were shorter or had less to do? Let me know below.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64