Playstation VR is Definitely Worth it

in #gaming7 years ago

London-Heist.png

About a week ago I wrote a blog post here to help me decide which console to buy. In the process of writing the post, and listing what I liked about each option, I decided to go for the PS4 and Playstation VR. It's an expensive option, as the VR kit costs as much as a new console.

After a week I would have to say that Playstation VR is worth the extra cost! My kit came with a VR demo disc, and a copy of Playstation VR Worlds. The demo disc made me glad that I decided to not to buy any extra games on the spot. I was tempted to buy Rigs, but after trying the demo I decided not to.
rigs.png

Rigs definitely makes good use of the VR and makes you feel like you are inside the stadium. The visuals are great but the controls take a bit of getting used to. The problem was that there's no time to get used to them because you are put in a skermish so I spent most of my time figuring out where I was trying to go then getting blown up.

One game I really enjoyed on the demo disc was Battlezone. Despite using very basic graphics, which could have come out of the 80's, the use of VR is amazing. It really felt like I was sitting in the cockpit of the tank. Unlike Rigs, the gameplay was smooth and pretty easy to pick up at the beginners level.

VR Worlds comes with 5 short games all designed to take full advantage of the VR immersive experience. Ocean decent is a great way for people to experience VR for the first time. As the name suggests, you are in a cage under the ocean. You are completely surrounded, and you will will find yourself trying to reach out and touch some of the fish as they swim by
ocean-descent.png

My only complaint about the London Heist, was that it was too short. As a fan of shooter games, this was everything I wanted. If you were a fan of the light gun games back in the days of CRT tvs, then you'll love this. I was using motion controllers, which synced up perfectly with the hands on screen. At one point I literally closed one eye to line the sights on a tough handgun shot. If like me you find the story mode too short, then there is a collection of shooting galleries to keep your trigger finger occupied
London-Heist2.png

After playing the London Heist, I am looking forward to trying Shooty Fruity when it comes out next month.

In the mean time, I decided to purchase Farpoint. Unfortunately the motion controllers I already paid for, don't work on this game, but there is a more advanced aim controller which combines the feel of a rifle with the functionality of a dual shock controller. I might have to make the investment especially as the list of aim controller games seems to be growing.

The Playstation VR isn't limited to specific content. You can view anything on your PS4 through the VR helmet. If the content isn't designed for VR immersion, then it will default to the cinema view. It's like playing on your tv, if the tv screen took up the entire back wall of your lounge.

I watched an old DVD with my tv and surround sound switched off, just the VR headset (and earphones), and it felt close to being at the movies. Today my friend lent a 3D BluRay (Guardians Volume 2), it was awesome. If you like 3D movies, then this definitely brings the experience home.

Not much else I can say for now except that if you are thinking of getting it, then do it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeromanomic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice post and pic
Dont forget to upvote follow & resteem
@nurdinnakaturi

Join us for a daily chance of a steam game code by solving a little riddle:

https://steemit.com/@dailysteamcodes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52