What it feels like to be a gamer girl

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Girls in the gaming world have been treated differently from males for ages. With me getting back to multiplayer games I realised that even in 2017 it is still the case. Everyone can define “gamer” term differently. For me, gamers are people who spend most of the free time (or more, if a pro) by playing games.

But let’s go back a bit. I never saw myself as a “different” kid. The only thing I knew is that not a lot of people shared my likings. Luckily, I had a great class at school, so I never got bullied over playing games or watching anime.

Right before graduating high school I discovered one particular game which became my main hobby (and still is). You probably would expect something well known and popular like DOTA2 or League of Legends but, apparently, I am not a MMORPG type. Dance game, which ironically has almost nothing in common with dancing, became my life. It is called Pump It Up and in short it is a Korean version of Dance Dance Revolution.

It wasn’t until uni that I realised that something was wrong. While most of my groupmates were enjoying night clubs, movies and everything else that students like, I have been spending most of my time in the local arcade playing Pump It Up.

14249701_1215015851891962_1307560509033622658_o.jpg

But it wasn’t all. In the past two decades, I played hundreds of hours of absolutely amazing games. It all started from Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, Morrowind, Lineage ll and quickly went to Portal, Left 4 Dead, Skyrim and, finally, Overwatch. There were many more on the way. At some point board games became a logical addition to the list. Magic The Gathering, Dixit, Citadels, Pandemic, Battlestar Galactica, Terra Mystica - all of them kept me well entertained.

The most interesting thing is that within more than 15 years of gaming it never occurred to me that I am a gamer. After turning 23 and moving to London new people I met pointed out that I am a nerd and referred to me as a female player or gamer girl. But inside, I couldn’t agree. In my country term “gamer” was used to describe male players. Girls simply were not gamers, and it felt like we were just fooling around trying new things. We were never seen as “true” gamers.

The same month I finished reading a book “You’re Never Weird on the Internet” by Felicia Day. It is a story that describes how gaming almost ruined a girl’s life and at the same time led to the new amazing opportunities. All that I had in my head was “This is me. I am a gamer”. Twice a week I visit the arcade after work to train hard for future competitions. When I am tired of rhythm games, I spend a reasonable amount of time playing Overwatch (400h+ and counting).

My evening Overwatch session

But there was something else. The book described shaming of girls online for playing games. I must say I have been there. I remember very well the first person who tried to shame me for playing multiplayer Left 4 Dead.

“Oh, it’s a girl. You must be so ugly that you don’t even come outside”.

The whole phrase didn’t make any sense to me.

“Hey cutie, do you want to have a threesome with me and my friend?”

“You sound like a little boy”.

“Bitch I hope you get cancer”.

…and many more.

Honestly, I didn’t pay much attention. I got angry for a bit and was confused every time this behaviour occurred. One year ago I got back to multiplayers, and it happened again. It happens every week. I do not understand what makes people treat female players this way. But I strongly believe that I shouldn’t be treated differently because I am a girl. After all, we all like the same game.

There is another fact. People often added me to their friend list just because I am a girl. How could I tell? I play with my male friends, and none of them got requests from same people we had in the team. It was only me, but my aim is no better than theirs. It does feel a bit wrong.

Luckily the gaming community becomes better every year. There are certainly more females online now, and it is a great joy to play with them. I am proud to be a gamer, and I hope that multiplayer games will be a pleasure to all fans out there no matter what their gender is.

Sort:  

I remember joining my first Klan in Quake Arena and when I told people I was a girl they would stop helping me :-( it was a long time ago lol

I am sad to hear that you also had a negative experience :(

Oh dont be I went into software dev trying to code all my own hacks lol

I think everyone shares their own share of abuse online. I know why woman usually get more sexual abuse and man usually get more violence abuse.

Great post anyways! Would you mind if I included it in today "best of gaming"?

Web can be pretty violent indeed. Sure, I would love to see my post there :) Thank you!

Holy shit, I had no idea people actually treated females 'badly' in online games, I remember playing Garry's Mod, when I was a teenager, we had a few females that used to play alongside males, All I can say was that there the guys actually worshiped the females (as they were so rare), however there was a bit of toxicity, mainly towards the younger kids (who sounded like little girls and thus got called little girls), however to my experience; no females were insulted (especially in the way you describe), so it's really a shame to hear bad experiences.

I am disappointed in my fellow males for being so gender biased in the games you've played.

Indeed, worshiping is another side of a coin. Most of the time people don't pay attention if I am a girl. I think most of the offenders come from a "salty" category anyway. But I absolutely hate undeserved toxicity towards the kids. My team has a guy who is a 13-year old (the oldest in the group is 30), and he is a damn good player, we all respect him a lot as a person as well. I wish people cared about skills more than age. After all most of the people in cybersports are teenagers ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Absolutely! Its pretty stupid, but people can be judgmental idiots and just need to be told to shut the hell up. Everyone is just there to have a good time, and the hate is absolutely ridiculous sometimes

This actually came up yesterday in a staff meeting at the game store I volunteer at. Luckily, I have found a diverse local game store and the staff there is extremely supportive. I've been to more than a few where that wasn't the case. The scene is getting better every year, and the Magic community seems pretty committed to making sure organized play environments aren't hostile to anyone, but being treated poorly in the past is the number one reason casual female magic players say they don't want to come to events. That's sad. Games are fun, and girls shouldn't have to be harassed in order to play them.

I think in 10 years any gaming community will be less toxic towards the females. I just wish the toxicity never happened in the first place.

A few years ago, back on the Xbox 360, I changed all of my profile information to indicate that I was a female gamer. The amount of people that tried to contact me after that was incredible. I either got hate messages or people trying to hit on me in the text messaging system.

The best way I found to shut those people up, was to mess with them. I'd either have a really good comeback or I'd stomp them in the game. The best incident was when a guy tried to get my phone number. I gave him a phone number but the one I gave him sent him to a male on male phone sex line.

My advice to you, would be to mess with those people that are talking to you. Make them look stupid and outwit them. Anyone that talks like that to anyone else is most likely a little low on the IQ points. You'll have some great stories to tell after that, especially to us here on Steemit!

I'm happy to say I never experienced this kind of abuse as a gamer girl. It might be the type of games I play, but in the MMO world, even ten years ago, everyone was treating me like any other player and giving me the same chances to 'join the good team', as anyone else. I don't really notice getting a lot of extra friend invites either, but I guess that's because I don't really lay it on too thick that I'm a girl. It might be different in games like shooters.

I've known pretty toxic girls in games though. They grasped at every opportunity to show the men that she was a cute, innocent (way too flirty) girl. I've had one in our guild split up everyone into two camps. The ones she had wrapped around her finger and the ones who despised her for those games she was playing. In that case, I did not protect her for being a girl, but kicked her out for endangering our guild.

Fellow female overwatch and video games fan here .

Unlike you, I've had a shitty time at school, I was bullied for the most part (will spare you the details) so I've had a very different experience of rude online comments. I've started playing with strangers online with overwatch when it came out and I've noticed that yes, as cliche as it sounds, sexist comments or just surprised reactions or interested friend invites ARE a thing.
It didn't surprise me but it didn't hurt me either. Nothing of what these strangers on the internet can say can reach me. Most of the time they're just little kids trying to act tough, desperate guys, sometimes genuinely nice, desiring to find a gf who will understand them, or just people that are rude in general and jump onto an easy occation to be bothersome. For me, online comments like those I've received are NOTHING compared to real life harrassment. Ultimately, these people can't do shit to you and allowing yourself to be influenced by it isn't right. You can't make the world smarter (unfortunately though I believe in time this vision of the gamer girl will change) but you can make yourself stronger.

Thanks to overwatch, I've been treated in a sexist way for the first time but I've also made a few very good friends I'm hoping to meet irl one day.

If anyone here's interested in playing overwatch pc (plat level) and is tired of stupid players and interested in meeting nice, funny, a bit crazy people, add me (discord : lezmagi#0635) and I'll add you to my team. I promise you fun ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29