Why did I become a gamer?

in #gaming6 years ago

Hey steemians, how are you? I'm José, although most of you know me as Jacks, a guy who uploads content to Steemit with the theme of videogames. I am a boy who likes videogames a lot, in short a gamer, but why I became a gamer? Simple for the love I have for videogames.


SOURCE

Let's see, I think the first videogame I played was Super Mario Bros, and if I remember correctly I played it in a NES that belonged to my cousin, then he gave it to my younger brother and me, so let's say I played a lot, titles like: Megaman, Pac-Man, Donkey Kong, among others were the ones that I could enjoy thanks to that old console. But well, I only played those games because it was the only thing that entertained me, so these did not make me a "gamer" so to speak.

The videogame that would say that I became a "gamer" was no other than the classic Pokemon Red, and now that I think maybe that's where the fact that I liked the saga and everything related to it comes from. A simple video game full of magic, which I could enjoy thanks to a friend who had a GameBoy, and good if you usually read for sure and you will know the rest of the story, but playing that video game was only the first step for me to begin to love videogames.

SOURCE

And well with time I would have a Xbox, a DS Lite and a PlayStation 3, all these consoles gave me hours of fun with my brother and my friends. In this way I would increase my love for videogames more and more until I become what I am now, a gamer who writes about what he loves: videogames.

In short this was the post today, something short for what I usually publish, but I hope you liked it. Anyway, I do not have anything else to say, so see you soon in a new post.

Sort:  

You deserve it! I'm sure the other featured authors would love to get a comment from you as well.

Awesome stuff! The Pokemon Gameboy series is truly a modern day classic.
I've actually been doing some "historical" gaming posts lately, covering noteworthy games released in certain years, just made one about 1998 when the Pokemon games were out. Seems to rhyme perfectly well with your post here :)

Oh sure they are very interesting, I should go there to see how. Thanks for the comment!

Cool, man.

Me, I've been playing games since the days of the Atari 2600 and have 14 game consoles (counting my 3 PS3s as one console) and hundreds of games. Ironically enough, though, I am not a gamer...how sad is that? :(

I played my PS3 to death and loved the WiiU but since I bought the XBO my interest started waning and, in the year or two since the PS4's launch, I still haven't even as much as played the games that came with the console, much less anything else... and yet I just Pre-Ordered an Atari VCS within the first hour of launch day. Force of habit, I guess. Simply HAVE to have all the latest consoles! :P ;)

I am currently busy working on two separate VR games but will have to put them both on hold soon as I am in discussions with someone to start working on their VR projects for an as yet undetermined period of time.

Point is, I've been playing games for over 3 decades and for most of my childhood that was all I did but unlike you I didn't become a gamer who writes about games but instead became a game developer who doesn't play games. lol

Good on you for sticking with it. I keep promising myself I will get back to playing some of those games I haven't even taken out of the protective wrap after more than a decade now... but I just have so many ideas that I want to bring into reality that I simply don't have time to play someone else's creations. :(

So yeah, hopefully one day you will get to play some of my games and write about them :D

I hope someday I can play some of your games, if you have some facts already, you can pass them to me and if I like them I will surely write something of them. Thanks for your coment!

The last game I made for myself was back in 2008 and was retired in 2009. Ever since then I've just done contract work and worked on other people's games. The last released game I created for someone was Good Knight Story.

The ideas, dialogue, art and sounds came from the client but we started with nothing and with the exception of a few code tweaks that he made I wrote the entire game myself. He says "I want this feature" and I go "Here it is" and eventually the game was released...

It's free to download so you can get it for iOS or Android here.

Screen Shot 2017-10-24 at 00.34.42.jpg

Enjoy :)

p.s. Fun Facts:

  1. Internally the knight (who has no name inside the game) was called Rusty... Get it?
  2. Since I was required to play through the entire game on a regular basis (i.e. one task was "Go through all levels in all languages and make sure the text displays correctly") I built in a cheat code to instantly kill the enemy whenever I hit the K button. With the number of times I was required to play through the game and use that cheat code I got the nickname K-Man :)

Please message me over Discord, I'd love to get a quote. Joys#6897

Can't seem to find you... I am on Discord so seldomly that I only now noticed my channel had 2 visitors so far.... in October 2017... my bad :P

Nevertheless, if you want to join, here you go...

oh, interesting, I'll download it to see how. LOL with the K-man @jansensensei

Cool! A brief history of your beginning into gaming.

I only played those games because it was the only thing that entertained me, so these did not make me a "gamer" so to speak
I used to play games for similar reason. Not because "I'm a gamer and I know what I want to play." I only played because I happened to came across video games and it was entertained me a lot. So, not sure since when I'd call myself a "gamer".

You understand the feeling I guess (laughs) and well yes, that's how I became a gamer, but well we all have our reasons why we have become a player, finally thanks for comment, a hug

Glad to see some of your background, dude! I personally started with a Nintendo 64 and then grew up with the main Nintendo line of consoles. I've got a 360 too and currently own Wii u and a 3DS!

History of the past you know bro, I never had Wii U, just a normal Wii of those ugly white (laughs) How was that console?

Wii u is cool! (Because you can pirate the whole library) But I feel like it try to shove it's gimmick down your throat when there were some more productive options out there.

I see, in a few words "it's good, but not so much" LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75