Star Wars the Old Republic game IMHO review (caution, some spoilers inside:) - PART 3 "Knights of the eternal throne"

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)
-You're insane! 
-I prefer the term differently rational.

Hi everyone!:) Today I want to share with you my third review about the SWtOR game. Update I will talk about is called "Knights of the fallen empire". Yep, I've missed "The Rase of Hutt" and "the Shadow of Revan", may be'll do these reviews later.

First of all I want to remind you, that I play only for the Dark Side, as a force user (so yep, sith it is), and as a sith warrior, pure tank. So I really don't know how the events develop for other classes or for the light side characters. And I also have to remind that I have a specific criterions according to which I can like or dislike a game, they may not match with yours:) So everything I'll write in this review is IMHO.

So. As you remember, theprevious part chapters ended with Senya taking Arcann away after it became clear that he was still alive after your long-long-long dirht with him. As I assume it doesn't make any difference if you select "let them go" or you try to finish Arcann - they will be gone anyway.

After that you fell pissed off on Senya, you still have alive Arcan somewhere, and his sister Vaylin to proclaims herself the new Empress. 

-"My own mother thought I was a monster. She was right, of course, but it still hurt."

I did not like the character in the first part, but the long story of her childhood experience made Vaylin easier to understand. After you'll find out that a part of her personality was locked away by her father (she looses all her force when she hears the right words) In one of the chapters you'll find yourself exploring the events of past years, exactly about Vaylin's childhood.

-"Kneel to the Dragon of Zakuul"

So, as she was a child Valkorion send her to a temple, mental hospital, some nice aliens who supposed to create a mind lock for her. As you go threw the mission you find holorecords, that tell you, how all this was happening. Not a nice place for a child, I must say, I even think Vaylin wasn't that mental untill she was trapped there. In the end of the mission I even started to feel some empathy to her. That place really looks creapy, and all the storys you know from the holorecords sounds terrifying if to imagine all of that. I remember the offical trailer, where it was shown, what exactly made Valkorin to send her there, well. There definitely was an another choise:) 

Interesting that trew allthe game I didn't feel something like that to Senya. In the first part, when it becomes clear that she's a mother to two grown up monsters I was surprised, but nothing more. I mean - how the hee she agreed to have kids with Valkorion? How it happend, that a jedi knight was engajed to a sith emperor? May be I missed something, may be not, but this part of plot looks a bit strange anyway.

The character I really miss is Darth Maar.In the very beginning I had him as a companion for a few missions, and if he stoped quoting the sith code all the time he could be a pretty good one. Interesting, how he looks without armour? In the "Knights of the fallen empire" I met him and my character noticed, that he was armoured even in death. Repiting the story, on a companion stage I tryed to take off his helmet, but it was impossible. Pity:) 

Since Arcann is still alive - he'll come back. You'll have a "pleasure" to see him again, and even not once. And he'll be really pissed-off on you and his sister, so it's a big question, who will have the first fight. You'll also meet the new leaders od jedis and siths as well, and it'll be another possibility to get convinces, that jedis are not that white and fluffy as they pretend to be. I knew it, damn, I knew it:) The new sith empress (not counting the theme if she had right to become one) is a cool woman, but the new jedi leader... Damn, she's awful. And a betrayer. The only good thing about her is that she's a kind of nice alien - that's all.

By the way, this part of game finally has a really interesting experience of new vihicle using you can go threw for a coople of times. Ta-dam, you can drive an AT-ST walker:)

You could have this experience before, cause with new update your own waiker will drop to your mailbox and it can be used as a persomal transport, but there's another fun thing about using it on missions. Now it can shoot:) And it can shoot pretty good, you just go forward, watching the eternal throne servants scattering in different directions.

There's a long nontrivial mission in the throne palace. May be it's the first time when you need thinking more, than fighting. In fackt you'll even have your battle skills switched off. You have to get to Vaylin's coronation party and to get to her somehow unnoticed (remember that situation in the first part, when your face has been shown to all the galaxy? So, you use disguise, and using it you can't be waving a lightsaber to the right and left). 

One more word about the romance possibilities. The first time I played I chose as a partner Koth Vortena, but he got angry about destroying a planet and gone with the Gravestone. Yep, mad guy. As I already said there always is a possibility ti flirt, so for the second time I tryed Lana and that second guy, don't remember his name, ex-republic spy. The second one worked for me, love-story is nice there. 

And, of course, in the end you'll meet another long, really long and monotone fight. First with Vaylin and Arcann, Then with Valkorion. Seriously, the developers could think a bit more about it. All the fight lasts for almost ah hour, and nearly nothing changes in it's  battle progress.It's exactly as in the previous update, "the knights of the fallen empire", where you have to fight Arcann for half an hour with now plots development. I mean it, it's really boring after first 5 minutes or even less. It could be either faster, of more filled with different battle events. I understand that such duration pretends to show that you're not fighting a regular character, but a big and scary boss, but it really could be more varied. And for that reason too.

So, as a conclusion, I must admit that developers made a great job here, renewing the concept of the gameplay, creating a new story and developing the characters. Now every NPC really has it's own nature and it's really interesting to explore, how they'll behave accoring to what you do or what you say. Said in the previous review and I'll say it again - it'f great to see more than "approves/disapproves". And to realize that your behavior has a real impact on the events. Well, in classic SWtOR it pretended to be so too, but almost never really was. 

I think it's all thoughts I whished to share by now, in a few days I'll also write a review about the third part of the game, and again it will be only my thoughts, not a classic game description at all. But if you want one it can be easily found on swtor.wikia.com. I would be happy to know about your gaming experience if you had one, it would be really interesting to share. 

And one more thing:) I'll create the reviews of the "Rase of Hutt" and "Shadow of Revan" a bit later, but next week I'll post a review about SWtOR artbook, will show some concept art from there and tell a bit of story about how the game was created:) Don't miss it:)

If you have missed first two reviews, thay can be found here:

https://steemit.com/gaming/@inber/star-wars-the-old-republic-game-imho-review-caution-a-bit-of-spoilers-inside-part-1

https://steemit.com/gaming/@inber/star-wars-the-old-republic-game-imho-review-caution-some-spoilers-inside-part-2-knights-of-the-fallen-empire

Please upvote and follow if you like my posts, it inspires me to create more!:)

Have a good day! See you!:) 

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Huh, yep... Over ard over again

Rise of the Hutt Cartel and Sadow of Revan were fun expansions. I liked planets of Rishi and Yavin 4 in Shadow of Revan. Big draw of Star Wars for me are all those cool planets and creatures you can find.. and specially all those sith ruins with powerful artifacts and interesting stories.

I liked them too:) It's a pity I missed them when I entered the game for the first time, I wasn't a subscriber so I couldn't see the missions. But after that I finally went through them and they were really fun:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66