Star Wars the Old Republic game IMHO review (caution, some spoilers inside:) - PART 2 "Knights of the fallen Empire"

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)
 -Why would you kill this person?
-Probably because I’m a dangerous sociopath with a long history of violence.
-Oh....
-I don’t understand how you keep forgetting that?

Hi everyone!:) Today I want to share with you my second review about the SWtOR game. Update I will talk about is called "Knights of the fallen empire". Yep, I've missed "The Rase of Hutt" and "the Shadow of Revan", may be I'll do these reviews later.

First of all I want to remind you, that I play only for the Dark Side, as a force user (so yep, sith it is), and as a sith warrior, pure tank. So I really don't know how the events develop for other classes or for the light side characters. And I also have to remind that I have a specific criterions according to which I can like or dislike a game, they may not match with yours:) So everything I'll write in this review is IMHO.

So, you wake up. No Empire, no Republic. And you've been gone for 5 years. No Empire. 

What I really mean - 

"NOOOOOOOOOO!"

Only eternal throne, some kind of a First Order in the seventh movie (did you like it? I didn't. When Darth Vader put off his helmet I was close to tears. When Hunt Solo's son did - I laught as a mad cow).

So, as I didn't like the conception of the "First Order" in the movie - I also didn't like the conception of game with no Empire. I used to it and it wasn't a long time since I've got Darth title. 

But I'm lucky that it's nearly the only bad thing I can say about an update, on all other sides the game gained more than lost. The interesting thing about this all, and I had to mention it in the very beginning, you don't have to pass all the classic SWtOR to get to the second part. You can just start with level 60 character (but as I assume you have to be a subscriber to do that). If you don't know the prequel story you always can ask your companions about it, and all these questons are greatly woven into the history.

So, again. You wake up. No Empire, no Republic. And you've been gone for 5 years, frozen in carbonite like Hunt Solo. The first person you see is your ally from the first part Lana Beniko. And from this very moment you can behave in two different ways: as if you remember what was happening in the part one or as if you don't. If you choose the seconf way there be a lot of really long and sometimes a bit boring explonations. 

-"Oh hey look, your finally legal! I just had to go in to carbonite for 5 years!"

The game is now devided into chapters, and each of them has a nice and long introductory and concluding video, which tells you the neat part of the story.

You'll have much more companions comparing to the first part. But if in the first one it was your own choise of who will follow you in battle - this time the game almost all the time will decide it for you. At first look it might be annoying, but now companions are so deeply involved in the plot that soon you just stop paying attention on this.

What happend to your old companions? Who knows. I whish I knew. As a sith warrior during the second part of game I got back only one of them, lucky that my favorite - Vette. Consider that in this second part you may have lost your memory, but all the other characters didn't. And if you treated Vette well in the first part - she'll be happy to see you in the sequel. If not - well... She may appear to be offended, and plus not your slave anymore. And here I come to the most intereresting part:

The game still has dialog systems, but if in the first past reactions of your interlocutors were reduced to "approves/disapproves", rarely something else, now it's a huge variety of reactions and one more really important and interesting thing. They'll remember, what you said and what you did. And they'll behave in future according to that. They really will, the first time I played it like a really "sithy" character my offensed companion hijacked a ship from me! 

Remember what I said about a pomance possibility in the first part, when only Quinn was really aviable? Now everything is different. You have an ability to flirt even with a wooden box and the opportunities for romance are much more wide (one of them unisexual, by the way. May be I'll try it next time:)

Quests are also different now. First of all, and it's really great, you don't have to go "there and back again" all the time like Bilbo Baggins, bringing the finished tasks back to the NPCes who gave you these missions. Now the game looks really different: you just go ahead, completing quests and getting new ones between this and then. You're in the story line all the time, and it's really great and creates the presence effect. The second thing about the quests - they became much more varied. There's almost no missions like "kill 20 creatures or smth", no more. They're different and that's great, especially in the second chapters update, "The knights of eternal throne" which arrived a month ago, and which I'll be telling about in the next review.

So, if to summarize everything, I must say the following. You still can unite with other players to go threw missions, but now the game looks much more like a "Single Player". I found no mission I couldn't complete alone. Well, you still can fly to Emopire Fleet to pass some flash points, but there are no updates in those missions. 

The onlt really annoying thing about the updaye is fighting the final boss. OK, he's a big boss boy, but why I have to fight with him for almost 20 minutes and everything he does during the fight is shoving me away? It's really boring. Hope it'll be fixed somehow. Had to fight him for nearlt 30 minutes, and the fight looked the same over and over again, only in the end it changed a bit: had to pick up the shield to protect myself. I didn't catch that idea at first time... So, after I got killed I had to fight again. The same character, the came boring battle, for 30 minutes again. That time even my dog thought I behave strange. So did my husband who already came home from work by the time I managed to finish that single battle.

So, the conclusion. Did this update mada the game more interesting and entertaining? Definitly yes. I'd prefer to see the development of Republic and Empire confrontation, but OK, I can refuse this for the breathtaking story BioWare created instead. By the way now you'll often have jedi as an ally. Don't know about haw is it on the opposite side, I mean for ex-republics, but on the ex-empire side it's a fun:) Something like Revan said to the jedi in the first part... 

-"I’m on your side, you fucking idiots! How many of you do I have to kill before you understand that?!"

I think it's all thoughts I whished to share by now, in a few days I'll also write a review about the third part of the game, and again it will be only my thoughts, not a classic game description at all. But if you want one it can be easily found on swtor.wikia.com. I would be happy to know about your gaming experience if you had one, it would be really interesting to share.

If you missed the first review, you can find it here:

https://steemit.com/gaming/@inber/star-wars-the-old-republic-game-imho-review-caution-a-bit-of-spoilers-inside-part-1

Please upvote and follow if you like my posts, it inspires me to create more!:)

Have a good day! See you!:) 

Sort:  

i wrote about Jediism. the religion based on Star Wars today. Go figure.

nice post

I'll be right there:)

Can't wait for part 3! :)

Coming tomorrow:)

Great! I am quite new to Steem and was wondering where to advertise/promote my posts after I write them. I tried steem chat, pingler, bing, google, facebook and twitter, but the views on each are quite minimal. Any tips?

I think no:) For me steemit is another blog, not my first one, so I use only steem chat sometimes

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50