Gaming Epochs through the ages: Part One - My First PC.

in #gaming7 years ago

This is an image of the circuit board that started it all for me. A S3 Diamond Chip, with 2MB of memory, paired with my first ever computer. I was in my 8th, or 9th year of life, and had previously only experienced gaming via a classic Nintendo Entertainment System, hideously rigged up to a tiny black and white TV.

This paltry GPU, paired with a Pentium clocked at a blistering 200MHz, occupied a first party, Intel manufactured board. I think there was 16 or 32MB of RAM on the system, and it ran Windows 95. When my parents brought the PC home, I was a little disappointing that it wasn't a Macintosh. That was the only type of computer I'd used prior to getting this beast. I was told that it was for school, it was for homework; but it was not long until the game started to get played.

I don't remember how big the hard disk was, but I do not recall ever running out of space. So, what did I play?

First, a lot of Doom. The shareware version of Doom. I was amazed by the visuals, the sound track, and was happy to play the same levels over and over and over again; not realizing that at some point, I needed to turn godmode off to progress further in the game.

The way in which one of my first tastes of PC gaming touched me was a violent and unforgiving one. The primitive Nintendo Entertainment System, which had migrated to the second TV in the house, gathered dust.

Another classic that enthralled me in my first epoch of PC gaming was Sim City. This title consumed oodles of my time, and I fondly remember optimizing every single element of my city: the electrical grid, the plumbing, and the road networks all had to be perfect. I even turned disasters off, and seemed to never tire of the game. I'd start again and again in order to build a better, more profitable city.

Then, something life changing happened. I got a copy of Heroes of Might and Magic II , and started to dream in pixels. At first, the complexity of this game absolutely awes me, with the exploration, base building, combat, hero spells, and plot providing hundreds of hours of excitement. I enjoyed necromancy the most, raising the armies from my fallen foes.

When I say that I dreamt in pixels while playing Heroes of Might and Magic II, these pixels were of the prettiest, most fearsome armies of the dead, absolutely stomping on all the foes that I came across. I loved the overwhelming feeling of power, and the utter devastation I could unleash upon my foes, as I snowballed my way to victory each and every time. It was glorious.

I knew how to play games. I enjoyed playing games. I didn't know how to install windows, or navigate MS-DOS. This caused problems when I started to break things, and my beloved computer needed to go away and be reformatted. It wasn't long before I learned the art of reformatting myself. Soon, I was dabbling in MS-DOS and learned about the wonders of Q-Basic Gorillas. It was simple, but brilliant.

Then, the Unreal engine launched, and with it, so many great titles. My PC struggled to get a playable framerate on any of them, and it was (after about 3 years) that the computer wouldn't boot properly into Windows. I could still access some DOS stuff, but it was dead as far as Windows was concerned. A trip to the computer store revealed that the cache on the CPU had physically burnt out.

Disabling the cache in the BIOS gave the machine a new lease on life, but it was on its last legs, and wouldn't run anything without the cache. It's incredible how much of a different cache makes on a CPU. I was still young, and my parents didn't have a lot of money, so I dealt with it for a very long time, before the next PC came.

In the next installment of holoz0r's gaming epochs, (to come) we'll learn about my second ever computer, and the games that defined that machine.

What was your first computer, and how did it meet its downfall?

Sort:  

Ahh I started out similarly XD I got to the breaking/learning how to build/repair thing pretty early though much to my parents' annoyance, seeing as they're expensive things. They're quite happy to have tech support on hand now though as my sister eventually went the same direction XD

I'll tell the story of my first computer build in a later installment in the series. :) As we get closer to the present, I should even have photographs of the machines!

This brings back so many memories. I followed most of your steps (up to using the Unreal Engine... never had the chance) and I went even further back. My Dad was a bit of a gadget geek so we had at least 1 or 2 computers in the house at all times: Laser 128; Commodores 64, 128 & Plus4; 486SX; 486DX; and so on and so on. I would fiddle with the programs themselves and "half-hack" the encoded code and end up changing the graphics for the worse.

Now I barely have the energy or interest to play games at all; however, I'd love to make an actual RPG or adventure game (like the King's Quest series) sometime. I just need to figure it out... I don't pick things up well sometimes, which is why even though I've been "programming" since I was 5, I have just in the last 3-4 years actually understood how to program and the "why" factor.

Although, I must say, in my Middle-School computer class, when everyone else was using Logo to make the turtle draw, I was programming BASIC programs to make cool rebounding and mirror-image color patterns.

Very nice walk down memory lane.

You could try some basic software like RPG maker to make a title that's simple to start with, then build upon that. Some of the best games I ever played were purely text based, like the Zork series! Games do not need to be graphical powerhouses to be engaging. :)

Such memories! I use to get my dad's old computer hand me downs, first a 486 that I used to play street rod on, then some celeron that I put a 32mb TNT graphics card in somebody gave me for free.
When I was in my final year of high school I used my savings to build myself an AMD Athlon 2500 or something like that with a 128mb graphics card from Nvidia, but not sure witch one, I know it was mid range, I use to play a lot of Unreal Tournament and Wolfenstein Enemy Territory was the first game I played online, thanks for the memories man!

Congratulations @holoz0r , we r much excited to know about it, wonderful job you have done.

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations, this article has been selected to be featured in @corpsvalues Best of Steemit Weekly Bulletin. Keep up the great content production!
https://steemit.com/curation/@corpsvalues/week-1-corpsvalues-best-of-steemit-weekend-bulletin-inaugural-edition
Image 79.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40