Placing at a Magic the Gathering Tournament: Understanding Winning as a Narrative

in #gaming7 years ago


Life as a Gamer


It's been a while since I've written about Magic: The Gathering (MtG) ever since I started to compare the MtG card market to cryptocurrency assets but I had a unique experience last weekend that I thought would be an interesting to dig a bit into.

For people who don't want to get into the weeds of MtG jargon and particulars, scroll down to the last section about how I approach competitive gameplay.

This past weekend, I placed in the Top 8 for the first time at an official MtG Tournament! Hashtag shamelessgeekybrags. After playing the Modern format for a bit over a year, I managed to get to the semi-finals of an MtG Preliminary Pro Tour Qualifier (PPTQ). These are held throughout the year to test players. Winners are invited to compete in a Regional Pro Tour Qualifier (RPTQ) and placing highly in that tournament earns you a spot at the Pro Tour.

The PPTQ was mid-size, about 35 players, and I ended up losing only 1 game in the 6 rounds of swiss, drawing into Top 8 with 4-1-1 by intentionally drawing the last round with the top seed player. Competition at this level is fairly strict with two official judges patrolling the tournament, registered deck-lists, random checks, and competitive rule enforcement. On a personal level, it was great to see a wide range of players including a handful from my local shop in the Lower East Side.

IMG-0244.JPG

  • Me at #3!

Defining Moments


So for most of the tournament I believe I played austerely and was proud of my only single game loss (to a poor matchup in Living End), but I want to focus this post on understanding what happened in the semi-finals. Writing this is in order to both share the experience of competitively gameplay as well as train myself to think along these lines more and more.

In the semi-finals, opponent is on what seems like a Storm deck and combos off to use Empty the Warrens, creating a dozen 1/1 goblins that I just can't get rid of. Onto game 2.

Throughout this game, I have a commanding position with plenty of discard and pressure on the board.
For magic aficionados here is the exact board state on his turn 2 - I have a Young Pyromancer down and in hand I have a Surgical Extraction, Sacred Foundry, and Bedlam Reveler (I'm on a Rakdos Reveler deck splashing for Lingering Souls). He has 5 cards in hand and no board, a few cantrips and Gifts Ungiven in the yard that I stripped away. At the end of his turn, I surgical his Gifts and see his hand of Deceiver Exarch, Pestermite, 2 Desperate Rituals, and a land. His deck is playing a mashup of Storm and Kiki-combo with 3 Kiki-jikis in the deck.

I then forget to play my 3rd land.

I wasn't terribly concerned as oftentimes in this deck wants to hold unneeded lands to pitch to Faithless Looting, which might have happened. But I didn't play out in my head all the options of what my opponent could have done.

I'm 100% punished when I untap and draw a land for turn. I show myself with the Sacred Foundry, play Reveler, draw three cards, and my hand is Inquisition of Kozilek, land, and Terminate.

It kills me right now to go over the scenario...

I play inquisition and he flashed in Exarch in response. I strip away the Pestermite, ignoring the 2 Rituals. I bash in and pass.

He untaps, topdecks a Kiki-jiki, and plays it for the win.

Now, I understand full well that I was punished for not carefully considering my turn and making a simple but back-breaking mistake. If I had played the 3rd land on time tapped, I would have had mana up to aim the terminate at Kiki-jiki, most likely ensuring a win. I didn't, and I lost.

That's the blatant technical misplay, one I have begun training myself not to do and more systematically/calmly approach game steps like the pros do. If you watch Grand Prixs or Pro Tour tournaments, pros are slow and methodical, even when it seems like there are no other options.

What they're doing is narrating their options.

chancencounter_003hearthkami.jpg

Victory is a Story


Often in gaming or even sports activities, we treat moment-to-moment decisions as technical moves. If he swings for you face, you duck. If you she slashes from above, you parry. We very often associate prowess as a skill to act or react in a certain way depending on a scenario.

What's less spoken about is how competition is played out at higher levels like a story. Much of competition is skill in the moment, but a significant component is understanding the larger ark of a scenario will play out.

In my critical scenario of turn 2 of game 2, I was going on auto-pilot. In a rush, I was only considering how A, B, and C would change the immediate situation instead of fully comprehending how A, B, and C would help me arrive at Z. These are some of critical questions I could have asked myself considering that I was ahead in the current game state-

What are my opponent's outs (what cards can he draw, what sequences can her have / How can I lose from here?
How do I win most efficiently from here?
What are plays are more risky but have higher reward and what plays are more safe and flexible?
How many turns do I have of reliably winning or not losing with my plan of attack?

In the situation I was in, I failed to accurately calculate the first question for my opponent. This was especially pertinent since he was on a combo deck with 2 main avenues to victory. If I had been more deliberative with my plan and current situation, I would have known that definitely playing that land turn 3 would be the safest in ensuring the safest outcome. I would have path to victory on the board (to win reliably in 2-4 turns) and options for potential steps that my opponent could take.

In any case, my biggest take away was that I failed to string together narratives of either victory or defeat with my competitive play. I was simply relying on the strength of my cards drawn and options within the moment instead of understanding how certain actions could affect or secure a narrative ending.

  • Navigating the Field. Source: The AV Club

Victory (and defeat) is always a narrative. Sometimes they're very short stories that seem more bullet points than stories but they're a narrative of steps, challenges, and decisions that ultimately decide what happens in a match or competition.

Anyway, thanks for reading and sharing this interesting moment with me. Nonetheless, this was my first time Top 8-ing a competitive level tournament and I'm grateful to have made this much progress in a year. I'll continue to improve my game and hopefully report back with more major wins in the near future!

Steem on!

Sort:  

Good post I will continue to follow every post you thank @hansikhouse

Ok. Please follow me. And help Upvote my post

you are a good story teller i guess lol @hansikhouse

Pfff not at all, but thanks @thegoldenphoenix ;)

Hello my friend , I am new on the site , can you help and follow me @elad1982 and vote i follow you and upvot you
Thanks and Good luck

Hello my friend , I am new on the site , can you help and follow me @elad1982 and vote i follow you and upvot you
Thanks and Good luck

매직 경력이 짧고 한글로 즐겨 상황을 온전히 이해할 수 없다는게 조금 아쉽습니다. 상황을 온전히 이해했다면 더욱 생생하게 느꼈을텐데요.

kmlee님도 매직을 하신다는 말씀을 보니 정말 반갑습니다. 저는 메직 정말 좋아합니다. 사실 매직관련 내용을 한글로 써볼까 했습니다. 하지만 그 읽으시는 분들이 별로 없을것 같았습니다. 이제는 동기가 생겼습니다. 시도해보겠습니다!

저라도 애독자가 되겠습니다. 사실 요즘 값싸고 간단하게 할 수 있는 디지털 카드 게임이 많아서 매직에 소홀합니다. 여러 디지털 카드 게임을 해봤지만 매직처럼 깊은 맛이 없어서 조금 아쉽지요.

저는 매직의 매력에 많이 빠졌습니다.
매직도 디지털로 하고 있습니다 ㅎㅎ 그리고 사실 코인 마켓도 매직 트레이드를 하며 러닝커브를 순주롭게 넘기며 들어왔습니다. https://steemit.com/gaming/@hansikhouse/artificial-price-memory-w-assets-investing-with-magic-the-gathering-part-3

지금까지 게이밍 글 인기 많았는데 한글로 시도하겠습니다. kmlee님 덕분에요 ㅎㅎ! 신납니다.

기대에 부응하려면 정말 공부 열심히 하며서 읽어야겠어요 ㅎㅎ 행사는 1번 밖에 나가보지 않았고 그저 친구들끼리 즐겨서 이해가 부족하거든요.

How interesting. I've never been to an event like this! I had no idea that there were such large gatherings for gaming! Thanks for the share.

I didn't either for way too long. As soon as I learned that Magic had such a large competitive scene, i dived back in 2 years ago.

aww that's awesome! Games are so fun! I recently played Dungeons and Dragons for the first time! heheh it was super fun. :)

Haven't played this game in years! Makes me want to break out the old deck! @trendhobo

Haha you should! It has become my favorite past time and competitive hobby

오 고등학교때 한글로 했던 기억이 있어요. 외국에서는 인기가 확실히 많나보네요 ㅎㅎ

서울 갈때마다도 해요~ ㅎㅎ

이게임이 아직도 많이 하는군요 중학교때 재밌게 했는데 이것도 현질이 지배해서 그당시 학생인 저는 포기했던ㅋ

저도 최근까지 몰랐는데 새상에 객관적 개임들 중에선 제일 인기많은 게임이드라구요!

As someone who's recently getting back into MtG, this hits home. Back in the day (around Ice Age/4th/5th edition) I was involved in a few small local tournaments. It can get pretty intense if the stakes are high enough. Half the time, I just concentrated on having fun playing the way I wanted. But yeah, there are so many things to take into account if you're playing for the competition of it.

Great article! I upped, followed, and resteemed! Thanks so much for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34