My concept art for „Huxley“, a Virtual Reality Exit GamesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

A sneak peek behind the very first, fully playable, German Virtual Reality -Exit- Game.

Huxley 4 wat.JPG

Berlin, Klosterstraße, in the bunker of a former East-German post office, you'll find Exit Games. It's a large underground complex where they arranged the rooms to propose diverse scenarios, including one where you must get your way out of a GDR prison.


Source: https://www.lebegeil.de/exit-berlin-live-escape-game/

Wait, what did you say? Scenarios? Escape? ...

If you don't know, Exit Games are like video games but in real. Like the name suggests, they often consist of escaping the rooms with logic puzzles, keys and enigmas, favorizing team cooperation.

By the end of 2016, I had the chance to have been approached by Exit VR that was working whithin the complex on a similar project but ... with a Science-Fiction scenario and above all,... IN VIRTUAL REALITY!


Source: https://exit-vr.de

So when they asked me to concept the main character "Huxley", a robot using a super powerfull futuristic energy, I obviously did accept!

I am not so used to concept art as it requires fast illustrations that clearly show a mood or more precise things. Kind of the contrary of what I do (very slow and detailled) but I am a painter, right?

Anyways, what was asked to me was a robot but, "not so nasty". As the target audience is wide.

I then started with a bunch of rough sketches.

huxley idea 2 wat.jpg

huxleey 12 wat.jpg

huxleey 13 wat.jpg

Huxley interface 3 wat.jpg

interface 1 wat.jpg

idea huxley 1 wat.jpg

interface 4 wat.jpg

There was more props but I only selected some here. Anyhow, we ended up with that idea of a floating robot.
Schweben Huxley.jpg

They also liked having it with visible insides.
without hull huxley.jpg

Huxley heads variants wat.jpg

Arms Huxley.jpg

huxley propulsion wat.jpg

Variants of this floating robot.
Huxleys_page.jpg

The two following images were the last I provided to the 3D team. Included were other coloration propositions.
Front_Rear_Huxley_Steampunk_Low_res.jpg

Side_View_Huxley_no_colors_low_res.JPG

In definitive they had to change quite a lot but the general idea was there. Here's how it looks like.

Source: https://exit-vr.de
I have seen it animated and it looks awesome!

In the meantime I had also done some research for the environment where the robot would had to be found.
Base 1.jpg

Base 2.jpg

Base 3.JPG

Base 4.jpg

As you might know, moving in VR games is still a big problem, either because of motion sickness or the need for costly physical interfaces like those sort of rolling carpets or even tridimentional rotative devices. The team took a long time before adopting laptops in backpacks and a system of teleportation which allows to evoluate in huge virtual environments, while being physicaly inside a much smaller space.

The game, which allows teams of two to four players, isn't actually available for your PC or Playstation. You must go on site as it still requires a certain space, material and monitoring that isn't very available for a mainstream audience.


Source: https://exit-vr.de

I didn't see the further development of the game myself. And I haven't been there to play yet (which I obviously should do!!!), the only images I have are from the official website.

On my side, it's been a great working experience with a company! Paid to do what I like to do, a field I totally dig, a super cool location, a very nice and friendly team (they continue to invite me to official events etc...).

Ah! And here is also the official teaser!

Thanks for having read my post!



Visit http://www.haedre.com to discover more art.

Consider to support me by buying my prints: http://haedre.com/shop/direct-to-me

Sort:  

i fukcin see a Robo-Krillan with Dragon ball in his gut, wtf

You got a 13.31% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @faggotcommander! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Wow love all the concept art and sketches. Teaser looks cool you really should play :) Can imagine how awesome it would be working on such project.

First I thought you were designing a Escape Room but this is another level.

Really cool and the effort again in your posts is amazing. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you Sander -)
I was advised to wait some time till it gets well updated. I'll definitely go soon!

You must have put some amount of time into designing all those options for the game. the detailing and design is top notch. I can't believe that you haven't played yet after designing part of such an amazing experience.

I would have been waiting on the first day for them to switch it on and see how everything turned out. I like the final design that you went with but it does look a bit too friendly. I wouldn't mind seeing it looking a little more menacing. Lovely artwork though.

Thanks for appreciating and commenting @niallon11!

Haha yes I also prefer nastier looking hypercyborgs but in this case it was actually asked to be not scary (altough I do find the 3D model a bit bleak :D ), they have an audience from 7 on.

I was also waiting a bit the game to get updates to play but now yes, it's really time!

Well you have to provide what they hired you to do. A shame though really, hypercyborgs are built to be nasty. We'll have to see the next post now when you detail how the experience works out.

There was a guy working there in the accounting section and he'd loved to have something looking like Nihei's impfamous manga BLAME!

Maybe I can make a post about the game indeed :D

Hi @haedre. Knacksteem appreciates your contribution and has rewarded you with an upvote from Knacksteem official account.
Knacksteem rewards individuals with unique talents and skills.
Jointhis awesome community!.
To learn more about Knacksteem. Read our Blog post
Join the offline community on Discord

wow, a lot of work putted in here
amazing, seriously. we can see you take this very professionally.
some of the robots remind me of Portal, i guess you got some inspirations from it, didn't you?
In any case they do look so cool. Vote and resteem, a work like this is just so amazing :)

Thank you for the nice comment @edanya!
I know portal but I never played :)

I think I see a lot of influence from Portal there.

I haven't played that game but maybe the developers did :D
Thanks for commenting!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by haedre from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Always a delight to see your posts, @haedre, but this one is especially incredible ! Amazing project and you've brought a lot of your artistic inputs and energy into the game's world !! Lovely pictures, wonderful descriptions, I really enjoyed this post very much <3 <3 <3

Wishing you all the success with this project, @haedre :)

Thanks Spider!!!! Happy you dig those ones too.
Yeah I'd love to work more for video games indeed!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Welcome back haedre, and what a nice come back this post is. I am truly enjoying myself looking at how you designed Huxley, all of your designs are so attractive. I wonder if they had difficulty to choose the final version? XD      
                     
And the environment shots that you created are very nice too. I always love scifi interiors due to their immense size and yours certainly deliver this aspect plentifully :).      
                     
-upvoted-          
                       

Thank you for your nice comment and the welcome back @scrawly!!

Yes I think they hesitated quite long time over how it should be, people had different wishes. They also really brainstormed a lot to have a somewhat of realistic, especially in the environment. Like what special kind of building would this robot been buried etc...

I haven't actually designed any interiors, a (real :D ) concept artist was already working at it when I got hired and he was nailing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36