You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Video Games Taught me about Business and Capitalism

in #gaming6 years ago

It's strange to me, I'll have older people teaching me about some new skill, or trade, and I find myself comparing it to some aspect of a game I've been playing my whole like (I.E. resource management skills developed from playing Total Annihilation, market forces from the GE in Runescape) and they compliment my rapid ability to 'learn' these 'new' ideas and concepts. So I try to explain to them that I've been familiarizing myself with these concepts since I was as young as 5 years old, so the ideas aren't that new, they tend to become upset with me for one reason or another.

I'm not sure if this is just the fact I'm somewhat terrible at communicating, or if there is some pre-existing bias they have that makes them hostile when video games are mentioned. Either way, I appreciate seeing someone else talk about it, it's something I've always felt was somewhat true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44