You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The appeal of retro gaming

in #gaming7 years ago

I can't stand most retro games, because modern games tend to do everything better in terms of story, gameplay, polish and production.

However, I do admit there's one thing that retro games do better: they allow much more in game decisions. Just compare Fallout 1 to Fallout 4 and you'll see what I mean.

Baldur's Gate is also an excellent example of this - tonnes of loot, skills, stats, classes, characters and tonnes of side quests or ways to advance in the story. It's one of the retro games that I still enjoy and I recently finished it on multiplayer.

Sort:  

I agree that newer games are much more polished and that older games offere much more variaty, that's true. My main problem with the newer games is the lack of ganras I like, RTS games, turn based tactical and strategy games and more. Those are the ones lacking, also complex RPG games.

We do have some interesting newer games recently, but they are few and far between, this is why I like older games, but I do play newer ones as well.

Okay fair point. I don't play many RTS games so I wouldn't know if there are any good games recently or not.

As for complex RPG and turn based games, I HIGHLY recommend Divinity Original Sin. If you liked Baldur's Gate, you'll certainly like this game + it has online co-op that's a LOT better than Baldur's Gate.

That's a great game, but for me Pillars of Eternity managed to fill my need for complex RPGs. Both games are fun and amazing in their own way.

That's also a great game that I was planning on getting! I changed my mind when I saw the reviews saying that they raised the price for Steam Summer Sale...

I bought it on GOG a while ago it was on one of the sales. I try to buy games on several websites as each have their own benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84