Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri - Backstabbing Never Felt So Good...

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Put down the controller and back away slowly... Ever play one of those games that just stays with you? The kind where you dream about them in your sleep? Well I played an oldie but goodie called: Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri. I've always loved strategy games starting with Sim City. but Alpha Centauri takes backstabbing to a whole new level.

Originally published in 1999, this amazing game has lost none of the qualities that made it an addictive all-nighter. The graphics may look a little dated but the gameplay is still compelling enough that I have worn out the original disc.

Trust? I don't think so...

The story begins as mankind is marooned on a planet called "planet" led by one of seven different faction leaders. My favorite character to play is CEO Nwabudike Morgan whom I saw as a mercurial Steve Jobs-like figure.

Standout figures are: Lady Deirdre Skye, the very powerful (and deadly) leader of the eco faction. She likes to spread her tentacles all over Planet at your expense. Sister Miriam Godwinson (who claims to care about your soul) comes across as a faux holy woman who will knife you in the back at the quickest opportunity. I learned to never trust either one.

Evercrack my ass

Some have called this Civilization in space, but the same human foibles are on display that surrounds us here every day. I usually create a large custom map to give myself time to build up before the knives come out. If you have not played Alpha Centauri I encourage you to dive right in Prepare to say goodbye to your friends and family, "Evercrack" has nothing on this. After playing this game, betrayal will become your friend...

Follow me @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Thank you so much!

Image credit: 1

Video credit: 1, 2

If you liked this post, please upvote it, resteem to your friends and follow me for more. You can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evernoticethat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18