A Little Musing

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

         When it comes to entertainment, we all have our sprees of indulgence. Gaming is definitely one of my favorites in that category. But, I would say I am modest in that regards. I started small while I was in college. I remember those $5 monthly subscriptions to Runescape. That was the first MMO I had ever played. In fact, I am pretty sure I still have some rare items in my bank there.

         For the most part, I played free-to-play games as a student. This included first-person shooter spin-offs such as A Path Beyond and random Facebook games like Mafia Wars. I wish I had some of my stats on those games archived.

         I didn't even join Valve's Steam platform until 2011. I have known the platform since I watched my brother playing video games, but I had never bothered to join. Even after I had joined, I only played games recommended by my friends and siblings. Often, I chose to get freebies off of Humble Bundle because I didn't have the budget.

l4d2.png
Not bad, only a little over 1 hour a day.

         I started off with Left 4 Dead 2 and haven't stopped playing since. Granted, I no longer play in vanilla servers, but in the large co-op ones. One of such servers is America Sector COOP.

kills.png
I kill roughly 125 zombies an hour...

         For a while, when I did purchase games, I bought them at a discount or long after their initial release. The first game I pre-ordered was Bioshock Infinite. Unlike many people, I actually played the red-headed stepchild, Bioshock 2, first. If anyone asks me, I say the first game had the better story while the second game had more fleshed out game play.

To this day, I still have not played a third of the games in my Steam library.

stats.png
Is it bad that I'm level 83 on Steam?

         It doesn't seem so bad when you consider 119 games over 8 years. Of course, that number does not include items I would buy for family and friends. As my budget grew, I started branching out into other games such as Hearthstone. I cannot begin to tell you how much I have spent on Hearthstone since 2015. I'm ashamed to tell you about it, but it's still cheaper than Magic.

         Over time, I found myself less interested in new games and consoles. I winded up playing games I usually enjoy or seek out retro games for amusement. If you ask me which game I would get in the near future, it would most likely be Borderlands 3, if it ever gets on Steam. The only reason why is because my friends and I still co-op together from time to time.

         That's it for my random musings. I would go into details about tabletop games, but that is a long story in itself.

divider.png

         The Game Room can be about random game-related musings.

Previous post: Popular Decks: Secret Mage
Next post: SMOrc Decks: Pirate Quest Warrior

Sort:  

I never knew you were such a gamer. That's cool. I used to be a pretty big gamer myself. I never played Left 4 Dead 2, but the first one was one of my favorite games! Loved that one. :D

I recognized some of the other games you mentioned, though don't think I played any of those. Some of the games I played/remember the most were Rainbow6, Diablo, World of Warcraft and Uncharted. The only game I play these days is Clash Royale on the phone, which is a pretty fun lil strategy game.

Haha I don't play as much these days either.

I just stick to some genres that I know I enjoy.

I forgot the pcmasterrace tag in my posts..

!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @enforcer48, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Oh man, I have that same problem with unplayed Steam games. What makes it even worse is that I buy a lot of bundles from sites like Humble Bundle, usually just because I want one of the games. So now I have about 800 games and I've probably only played 100 of them. I wish I could give those games away...

I 100% know how that goes.

These days, I just keep the codes and give the games away as needed. It's kinda lame that you can't give them away once you redeem them. Unless I'm missing something?

If you're missing something, I'm missing it too! I've started doing the same thing, just not redeeming the keys until I'm ready to play the game. I wish I'd thought of that before I reached 800 games, though.

If I may suggest anything, give Just Cause 3 a try. I my self love cRPGs, jRPGs, classic RPGs, and RTS, and .. I have really no idea why I tried JC3, no one recommended it to me, I think I saw a screenshot of one of the islands somewhere and something clicked. The gameplay.. well, your avatar in the game regenerates like crazy, making you almost invicible. Got a problem? Hide somewhere behind a lamppost for 20 seconds, and off you go. At first I was really disappointed. I don't like that kind of "superpowers", and almost stopped playing. But then, some I catched some humour in the dialogues, and I gave it second chance. A moment later, when I understood it's not meant to be a real challenge, almost not meant to be following the "story", and that's all about having fun destroying enemy bases in the most creative way (like, fly a plane right into their fuel storages, etc), and adding to that my beloved open-world design that becomes available really soon after some initial intro missions (though I don't recommend going to the north-most island without having your gear fully unlocked/upgraded, it takes a few initial missions) -- oh well, I wanted to make that brief, sorry :)

Ah, I found it. Probably the best summary of the game for me is the old wallpaper:
1920x1080_px_Just_Cause_3-1204373.jpg
(source: https://wallhere.com/en/wallpaper/1204373)

I will have to look it up and see.

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @enforcer48, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75