RUST - A GAME WITH NEVER ENDING ALPHA!

in #gaming7 years ago

Rust is one of the more interesting survival games that I have played. It was originally released onto the steam's early access program on December 2013 and after all those years the game went through some massive changes.

It started as a clone of DayZ mod for Arma 2 that have zombies, radiation and scary places. You would have to find food and water to survive and also guns to defend yourself. The idea of copying DayZ mod was scraped and the new Rust with the new graphics engine was made.



OLD RUST


NEW RUST



All those years passed by and the game is still going strong with thousands of people playing daily and with the dev blogs every week on the official website. What is interesting is that even after all those years the game is still in the alpha. Will the game ever go into the beta? Probably no, but it is awesome seeing developers that really care about their game.

I really wanted to try the new RUST. You still have hunger, thirst, temperature and you have to get resources, but the game right now looks more like a shooter with added crafting, where the main enjoyment comes from raiding other people.

Hopefully they fix the performace issues though. I can run games like Dota 2 or CS:GO pretty nicely, but I can't run this game even on the potato quality. And I think I am not the only one with this problem.




What I hate the most in this game is the assets warmup. It took more than 10 minutes for me to even get into the game. Maybe my computer is just too old for this.



I also managed to open the crafting table and see all the good stuff that you can make.



However then my game crashed so hard that I had to manually turn off the computer with the button (thanks Rust!) and now my steam doesn't even recognize that I still have RUST installed. They really need to fix these issues. And when they do, this game will be seriously amazing.



I still think those were 20 eur well spent. Few months ago you could even get this game almost for free from the HumbleBundle. What I seriously like is the new graphics, but you really need a good computer for it. Somehow it reminds me of graphics such as in Black Desert. I will try Rust later again when I will have enough processing power to even start the game. :)

And what about you, are you playing the game? What do you think of it?


Thank you!
My previous post:
https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@eirik/my-whaletank-promo-art
https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@eirik/new-whaleshares-token-beyondbit-token-needs-logo
https://steemit.com/hairshares/@eirik/hairshares-another-great-initiative

Sort:  

I had a ton of fun with old rust. For some reason I've never been able to get into new rust.

Oh yes, the old Rust was amazing! :)

I have this game but I got no idea what to do in it. Sure you can build house but only after you hit the rock 100 times which isn't fun in any way. Then you will get raided by group of players simply because they can hit rock more time than you do. But worst part is that servers get wiped constantly.

Main idea is great but why would you want to suffer so much to see how everything is demolished in a month.

Haha you are so right, the frustration is real! :)

looks fun. i have been interested in playing for years

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65