Why I Prefer Retail Over Classic (World of Warcraft)

in #gaming5 years ago

bg.PNG

Last week I tried out classic World of Warcraft for the first time. I've been playing WoW on and off for many years and I have seen it evolve over that time. I was never around to experience it in it's first iteration, but I definitely saw it change while I played. Now that I've tried it out, I can say that I definitely enjoy the current version of the game a lot more. To me, classic just feels like a huge regression in the worst way possible. Many people who play classic WoW say they enjoy it more, but I just don't understand.

First, something that makes me angry is the elitist mentality that many people who play this version have. They believe that it is somehow a superior game, even though it came out years and years ago and lacks so many of the great features that the current game has. They call the people playing the current game "retail noobs" and the sorts. I happen to love the current version of the game, and even though it has it's issues, I believe it is a much better game.

wow.PNG

Some of the things that I love so much in retail just don't exist in classic WoW such as LFG (looking for group), which is a way for people who don't know each other to get together in a group to do battlegrounds, dungeons, or raids. This just doesn't exist in classic. To do any of these things, you need to find a group of 5 or up to 40 people to do it. This can take quite some time as you might imagine. I'd much rather just queue up for a battleground by clicking a single button and almost instantly be playing some PvP. Another thing that's annoying about classic WoW is the class design. Over the years Blizzard has done a ton of fine tuning and tweaking of the classes to make them more fun and balanced. Not to mention add a ton of fun new abilities and talents. None of this exists in classic and it makes playing it seem quite boring in comparison. Also, the new and improved graphics and animations are super visually pleasing to me versus the outdated stuff.

If you're a nostalgia nut and you just want to play the old game I can understand but please don't go around flaunting how it's totally a better game in every way. In my opinion, it's just not true. Let me know what you think of either version of the game!

Consider following me @dropthatcode for daily content!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84