My Top 9 Worst of Games of 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago

There are only nine games this year I actually felt deserved to be mentioned as part of this list. The rest of the games that I didn't like weren't really bad and I don't hate them, I just didn't really have any strong opinions on them one way or another, or they just weren't games made for me.

That being said, much like my ten best lists, this one is similarly not objective at all. These are just the games I disliked the most entirely on a personal level. With that out of the way, on to the list.

9.)Detroit Become Human

I really was torn on whether or not to consider this game for the best or the worst list. I stand by the statement that David Cage is nearly unmatched in the field of gaming when it comes to creating an atmosphere. While Detroit may not reach the heights of Heavy Rain with scenes like the one where you are sawing away at your own hand, Detroit does have a lot of great moments and characters, Connor and Hank make for an amazing duo and Markus really does have a lot of passion and anger behind him that makes him compelling.

All of this is undone by the fact the game is written by David Cage, and David Cage doesn't understand how people work. He also is unaware of the concept of subtlety. Every message and point he tries to get across is hammered relentlessly into your skull, and throw in how much of the game is doing trivial stuff like picking up objects using quick time events, the strengths of David Cage do not overcome his weaknesses.

8.) Spyro Reignited

I didn't play this when it originally came out, but having played the remaster I can't help but feel that not only has the game not aged well, but when compared even to its contemporaries the game doesn't have much to offer. This came out after Super Mario 64, and even by the second game in the Trilogy, Ripto's Rage, the game can't compete with what was available at the time. With other remaster out now, such as Sly Cooper, and newer games of the genre like A Hat in Time, Spyro just kind of feels like the poor man's version of everything else.

7.) Kirby SuperStar Allies

In an attempt to capture the magic of Kirby Super Star from the SNES, this game misses the mark in just about everywhere. The AI companions make the game too easy, practically playing it for you. So many allies on the screen make it hard to follow the action in certain fights, and when compared to it's SNES counterpart, something that is unavoidable due to the similarities, it falls short.

There were a lot of good ideas here, but the game is held back by poor execution across the board. It's a shame because I was really looking forward to this one.

6.) Valthirian Arc Hero School Story

This is a mobile phone game masquerading as a console game, and doing a bad job of it. Combat is repetitive and boring with almost no difference between how you actually play the classes, you aren't really building towards anything, and the game is built mostly off timers.

You barely interact with the game at all, and it has nothing resembling an interesting story to try to keep you interested in at least that. In a sense, I feel this should be higher, but I guess you can call it the benefit of no expectations on this one going in, I just can't really hate it that much.

5.) Ni no Kuni 2

Ni No Kuni was a big disappointment for me on its original launch, it was a game with badly designed A.I. Allies, a lot of easy to predict plot points, and rather weak characters. The thing that it did have was an incredible amount of charm and no real problems with the narrative.

I had hoped Ni No Kuni 2 would pick up the slack of the first game, but in most ways I actually found it to be a worse game. The combat, while technically better, was largely boring and repetitive through the games entire run. While the charm is still there, and the story isn't as predictable, there are a lot of terrible aspects to the plot, and the game just doesn't have the same level of charm as the first game so there isn't anything to distract from the problems.

I did have some hopes for this one, as I've always liked Level 5 in the past, but when in comes to Ni No Kuni they just couldn't seem to make the idea work.

4.) Shalnor Legends: Sacred Lands

The game is a top-down action game with some of the worst puzzles I have seen in a game in years. There are only a couple types of them you come across, and none of them are all that engaging. The worst ones are where you have to push around pillars and get them onto matching colors, the problem with them being is that none of them feel like there is a trick to solving the puzzle, it's just time-consuming.

With only two real exceptions all the bosses feel the same, and enemies on the map aren't much better due to how easy the game is. There really isn't anything about the gameplay here that can grab you, so despite having decent audio and visual design, there doesn't really feel like there is much reason to grab this game.

Plus there are a lot of problems I have with the random loot drops from everything, and how easily exploitable that system is for gathering materials and money for upgrades.

3.) Dynasty Warriors 9

This is the moment the game stopped feeling like Dynasty Warriors. The grand battles don't feel nearly as grand, capturing strategic points replaced with this weird open world environment where you're finding materials and hunting wolves, I just didn't have any love for this game.

It never got a proper review from me because I wasn't sure I'd be able to give it a fair look. Because this is just not a Dynasty Warriors game, it's something else in Dynasty Warriors skin.

2.) Little Dragon's Cafe

This is the game that allowed me to see why it is exactly Harvest Moon and Story of Seasons worked so well, something I could never put my finger on. In Little Dragon's Cafe, you never feel like you are really working towards anything. Things just kind of keep happening, and it's all very dull and uninteresting.

There is nothing of substance from mechanics to narrative to latch on to, not even the visual of seeing your farm grow like in Harvest Moon, just the same old cafe throughout the game. Things happen, but it never really feels like you caused them to happen.

Just a function game that gives you nothing for investing time into it.

1.) Keatz: The Lonely Bird

I feel kind of bad picking on an indie game no one here has ever heard of, and probably never will hear about. But if I'm keeping this list honest, this game was the only real option. (No, I didn't play Fallout 76).

It's more than just the bland art design and music, and simple and uninteresting controls and several things that are autokills. It's all that put together with bugs that can get you caught in the scenery, among other things, when those autokills come up. So the gameplay is both not fun and buggy with instant kills. Just with that, I could justify this game at number one, but there is more than that.

I am not against messages in gaming, but what I am against is the game being preachy about it and hammering its message into your skull with all the subtlety of a David Cage game. And in the case of this game, it's Racism is bad. While it's frustrating enough with how preachy it gets, it doesn’t even have the positives of David Cage to help overcome that.

So buggy, uninteresting, and preachy as hell. There really isn't an upside to this game, so it nets my worst of the year.

Sort:  

What a surprise to see Detroit: Become Human and Spyro Reignited Trilogy in this list, I haven't played any of them because of them being exclusives though so I couldn't say if I agree with you. Same with the rest of the games that I had for the most part never heard of before. You don't have to feel bad for including Keatz: The Lonely Bird in that list. If it is bad, it is bad and its popularity shouldn't interfere with the decision of putting it in your list of worst games of the year.

I haven't played that many games from this year but if I had to make such a list, Sea of Thieves would be in it. The game was just so empty on release, it was a shame to waste such a big potential on repetitive quests. I would also put puzzlement in that list because of how unchallenging it was for a puzzle game. Donut County would probably also be in my list, it just didn't live up to the hype, I expected way more of it for this price. Its dialogues were really funny though so that's that ! Those are still games that I gave more than 10/20 to when reviewing them though, I haven't really played any truly bad game this year. Well, I have but they were all from previous years.

I've missed your top 10 best games list, will read it as soon as possible.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Really? That's a shame. Looking at Keatz: The Lonely Bird's level design, it does feel like the dev put some effort into it.

I have a game up on Steam, Wizard Slime. Would you check it out? :)

I went ahead and looked it up, and the thing is I don't really do early access games at all.

I did follow and add it to my wish list though, and once it's out of early access I'll give it a look.

Thank you. It'll be a more complete experience by then.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 404 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70