Game Creation Vol. 1: Concept

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello Again Steemians!

In my introduction post I talked about how I was starting production on my first video game. I am in my final year for a BS in Game Development and Programming with a Minor in Applied Mathematics. Over the last year and really intensely the last 2 months I have been trying to come up with a concept to run with for my first game and have been trying out different game engines with ideas and art styles. One of the classes I am in right now currently has me working in Unreal Engine 4 and I made my first third person level last week (pictured below).

I had originally thought that I would use Unity and have been doing workshops in that engine the last two weeks, I have now started working in Unreal Engine 4 and Lumberyard to see which one will work best. As I am still deciding whether I want a tried and true classic side scroller (like the Mario classics) or maybe a hybrid 3D sidescroller (something along the lines of Metroid). I am leaning toward the later with a Mega-Man level selection but I'll keep you updated!

THE CONCEPT:

I am a huge fan of retro space games, comics and the theme in general, so that's what I decided to do! The main character is a spaceman traveling worlds in a storyline I am still developing; obviously it needs some world destroying maniacal overlord... I have created different concept art for the suit's he will need to equip to terrain different worlds.

  1. The Prehistoric Suit: Crushing gravity, extreme temperatures, rugged terrain and space dinos are no threat in this spiffy suit!

  2. The Starter Suit: Cause we all have to start somewhere... in space... OoO Weeee OoOoo

  3. The Flight Suit: A planet with low gravity is a dangerous one, jump high and jump far and glide around with those lil' helmet wings fluttering about.

  4. The Biohazard Suit: Go for a dip in all the radioactive lakes your heart desires but watch out for mutant mosquitoes!

Keep in mind these are all just concepts and feel free to comment on any cool suits you might think of!

The image below is my very first piece of concept art when I was still trying to get an idea of the concept. I like the idea of an alien squid but in the original idea I was going to have a robot space pirate (came to the conclusion that was a little much and decided to go with the different suits idea) but wanted to explain why there's a little tank looking robot in the art.

I hope you enjoyed and are looking forward to future posts and updates! I am really excited about this project and will update as I make progress. Here's a reference image to some classic sci-fi imagery I grabbed online and so long!

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chimeraggeddon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @chimeraggeddon! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45