Why Diablo II was one of the best games ever created

in #gaming7 years ago

For those of you who have played Diablo II in the past know that it was one of a kind. The game was simply a masterpiece.

The first time i touched this game was around 9 years ago. From that day on Diablo 2 has been on my top 5 list and heres why.

1) The Soundtrack

Diablo II gave me the chills when i started playing it. The soundtrack really created an unsettling atmosphere and it perfectly perceived the horrors that dwell in the game. Each act had it's own soundtrack which builds up along the way.

2) Multiplayer

I remember when a random guy just gave me a unique item. I was so happy i thought it was the epitome of my Diablo II gaming experience. I also remember starting off on a fresh character and creating a server for newly started people. It didn't take long for the server to fill up and we began our adventure together. Working as a team was a fast and efficient way to go to the end game, while having an amazing experience along the way.

Of course, this includes boss runs and PvP servers, where people test their skills against eachother.

3) The bosses

Andariel, the naked spider lady. Duriel, the maggot lord. Mephisto, the ghost. Diablo, the lord of terror. And finally, Baal, the prime evil. All of these bosses made us feel weak at one point or another. All of them with unique set of skills and horror portraying appearance bring an in depth unease in our Diablo II journey.

4) Classes and builds

There are seven characters to choose from, each of them with their unique abilites and various builds. If you have started as a certain character, you can choose from various builds and skillsets. This is one of the sole reasons why people kept creating new characters and choose their best preference.

                   


Even though the game is practically dead and filled with bots right now, it truly remains one of the best games ever created and sculpted into our memory.

Have you ever played Diablo II?

@cheaky

Sort:  

While I have a copy of Diablo II complete, I never really gave it a chance. I kept going back to the first game - partly because of laggy Internet so multiplayer was not an option for me.

I see I probably need to set some time aside and play this one and really give it a chance. Thanks for sharing.

No problem at all! I really suggest you try it out, you won't regret it. I know I didn't, as I still think about playing it from time to time. Single-player is really fun too. It's hard to enjoy multiplayer because there are almost no people playing as well as tons of bots.

Let me know if you try it out.

Yes:) And loved it A LOT;)

Likewise. The nostalgia is real!

So true:)

I can't count the endless nights my buddies and I would spend playing D2...
Doing Bhaal runs, Cow levels, the nostalgia of it all is fantastic!

I see you're making yourself nice and comfy here on Steemit. Welcome to the club, man!

Hey man, thanks! Yeah, i realised writing and discussing about the things that interest me here on Steemit is really relaxing and fun!

Those days were really great. If there was a remake of D2, i would definitely jump back in the boat.

Absolutely! Unfortunately, D3 was not that remake :(

Hah! The dissapointment of D3 does not fit into words!

I remember coming home after duty and turning out all the lights and cranking the surround sound on my computer for this game! It was really good and I loved the cinematic, remember that evil damn crow? Fun memories.

Yeah, the cinematic was awesome. It truly brings back memories, doesn't it? :)

I have it and I still love it. Diablo 3 just doesn't have the same depth.

That's true. It feels like a totally different game and didn't really meet most of the community's expectations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77