Struggling to get into Japanese style games.

in #gaminglast month

image.png

I've tried several Japanese style games in the past, but I've always been turned off by the aesthetic and cultural differences with Western games. I just seem to only like Western style games with realistic-leaning graphics.

Here are some games I've tried and really wanted to like, but in the end they were too non-Western style for me:

  • Final Fantasy 7 Remake
  • Monster Hunter Rise (Monster Hunter World, on the other hand, is more Western in style and is one of my all-time favorite games)
  • Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • I also recently tried Wild Hearts. Still not sure about that one for a few reasons, but the Japanese cultural and aesthetic elements are definitely not helping.

Dragons Dogma (the original - haven't played the new one) was ok, but the Japanese leaning aesthetics were part of what prevented it from being more enjoyable for me. They weren't that pronounced though so it was mostly ok.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48