PS4 : Diablo 3 : The Necromancer

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hubby and I found Diablo 3 two years ago. We had just finished Lara Croft: Temple of Osiris and was keen to jump into another couch co-op - in comes Diablo 3.

I was hesitant to invest in Blizzard again after the ridiculous wait between Starcraft and Starcraft 2 (that sad excuse for an expansion pack don't even count.) I was bitter.

I loved that game, it was the first time I had ever belonged to a gaming clan (anyone remember {HDK} Hellfire Death Knights on battle.net?) and they took their sweet ass time getting 2 out, the clan disbanded and they moved on to newer games, while there I was, still a SC devotee.

I knew Diablo was big back in the day, wasn't really my thing, back then I was playing SC, C&C Tiberian Sun, old school Warcraft - those sort of games. Aside from the Starcraft 2 fiasco, I always thought Blizzard was a solid brand so we bought the game and here I am two years on, still hooked.

A couple of months ago they released a new character called the Necromancer.

The Necromancer, as it's name implies, harnesses death to conjure up Corpse Armies, Spirit Mages and uses corpses as weapons or sources of Essence.

I'm not really a skulls kind of chick so visually it's not my thing, but in terms of skills and abilities, the Necromancer is a badass.

And I've pretty much tried them all..

We've been trying to get to Greater Rift 100 for a while now and we wanted end game builds that can take us there.

Here are the 3 builds I'm testing out at the moment.

Necromancer Bone Storm Build With Inarius Set (High Tier)

This is the first build we tried out. Hubby is still rolling with this one, he seems to like it, but I reckon that's only because he hasn't tried the next build.

It's cool, I like the Bone Storm Armor and how it destroys everything within the vicinity. Land of the Dead is Land of the Dead - it's just awesome no matter which build you have on.

Downside for me is the Grim Scythe. It's slow and it stops my flow.

All the gear is relatively easy to get, do the grind, get some shards and try your luck with Kadala.

Necromancer Skeletal Mages Build With Rathma and Jesseth Sets (High Tier)

I aint gonna lie.. I love LOVE love this build. Out of the 3 this is the easiest one to play with and is very co-op friendly on account of the health globes all over the place.

You get 7 Skeletons and 10 Skeletal Mages that just wrecks the place, once you get your groove on. In terms of Diablo 3 armies - 17 is not bad, although a Witch Doctor pets build, from memory, has more, this is a classic case of quality over quantity.

The Necro army is just pure destruction in this build with this set.

Of course you have to get your button sequence right so you activate all the set features, or just fire off Land of the Dead straight up and give the army the boost they need on the quick.

Necromancer Command Skeletons Build With Inarius Set (Top Tier)

Maybe I just need time to get to know this build and figure out my buttons, but the few times I've played it I just didn't feel it.

I imagined the Bone Armor giving me extra protection while I hid behind my army but yeh.. nah..

Without Devour I was struggling to get enough essence for my mages to pack a punch and there was the whole, I hate this Grim Scythe thing.

A few pointers..

Straight off the bat. That Reaper Wraps you need for the Rathma/Jesseth Set? You're not going to get that from Kadala. You build that from your Blacksmith.

And that Jesseth Offhand is not a Phylactery, it's a Shield.

Yup.... thousands and thousands of shards wasted cos no one said this to begin with.

Also if you're a newbie reading this going WTF I haven't even leveled my guy up to 70 yet...

May I suggest, if you're not that interested in doing the campaign (again), just go straight to adventure mode and go as high up in torment as you can and start doing rifts. I find this method to be the quickest to level a character up to 70.

I hope that helps!

Do you play Diablo 3 too? What's your fave build?

SIDE NOTE!!!
Blizzard offers the Original Starcraft for FREE on Windows and Mac

IMAGE CREDITS
1, 2, 3, 4 & the rest are Screenshots from my gameplay.

Sort:  

Very cool Arly - looks like fun and relationship building.

Now what is they say about the couple that play together? Oh that's right... they stay together.

SK.

Funny you say that. Cos this whole thing started off the back of needing couples therapy/team building exercise. It worked for us. I found I needed to communicate more and speak out.

You should give it a whirl. The controls are easy and the graphics is easy to follow. I tried Call of Duty once.. nope.. not for me. This is way more friendly.

I like this game...

it's awesome isn't it?!

I'm all about Path of Exile.
Diablo II was magnificent, but I hated what I was hearing about DIII, so I looked elsewhere.
I play hardcore only, so haven't managed to see all the content yet.
(dying means starting over with a noob).
I just find regular play a little low-stakes.

Ooo hardcore player - fancy!! 😜
I dont have the guts for that.

I'm a cruisey player. I'm not out for a heart attack.

Everyone who's played D2 seems to hate D3. Im lucky I havent played D2 lol Im really loving having Diablo to play with when Im having a shit day.

I'm no hater, but they pulled out a lot of customisation and put the game on rails. If you'd played D2, you'd know what I'm talking about.
The idea that all Lvl 59 witch doctors, without gear, are exactly the same?
From the start, you should be tailoring your character to be exactly what you choose. Hundreds of choices over stat points and skill point allocation; really investing you in the character.
I'm sure it's not all bad, and mixing up your gear is a way to customise, but PoE went in the opposite direction, and drowns you in choices.
Really buys you into the character.
Try a hardcore char. Just give it a shot, you might love it :)

As a D2 player that loves D3, I guess I'm unusual.

Having gone back to Path of Exile this month I'm enjoying it a lot more as they seem to have fixed their biggest issue they previously had. Certainly has massive customisability, but sometimes a lot more complex than necessary, and a lot of the choices are the same (+10 of one stat...) that you have to go through to get the stuff you actually want. It's real benefit is probably with the economy and the gems.

I like that they're different games though. I'm not always in the mood for all the options, and I certainly prefer the visuals in D3. PoE's look older, and much more like Torchlight 2 and Diablo 2 graphics, and while not the most important thing, certainly helps.

Speaking of T2, it's probably the closest to D2 in customisability. when you level, you add 5 points into your stats and 1 into your skills.

While I was certainly initially disappointed with the lack of this in D3, it really isn't that important, and the game is focused more on the equipment you find, as that is what actually customizes your character. To say 'without their equipment, they're all the same' removes a decent amount of the choices you make from being important. You still have skills to chose which to use, and passives to combine with them. Sure, it's less customizable, but how often do you really vary off the plan for a character? With D2 I found that most of my characters of a specific class ended up being pretty much the same stats wise, so don't really miss having to allocate them each time I level.

Gonna have to check out this T2 game. Is it couch co-op? 😁

I dont get the whole wd without gear thing.

For me D3 is all about the gear 😀 Got no gear youre screwed. I love the collecting part - it appeals to the hoarder in me hehe

So no. I wont be trying hardcore. I have this thing with investing love and energy into things I spend my time on.

Sk killed off my dragon on Steem Lords and I was upset for weeks.

I cant even imagine losing one of my characters.

Not sure if T2 is on console. It does have LAN or Internet multi player options though.

I like hardcore, but at the same time, I certainly don't get as invested in the characters.

Spew. Only got console.

Ohh.. I invest. I've got a WD thats 2 years old. Weve been through a lot... 😁

I used to play Starcraft and Warcraft before but only vs computer. Yay free version!!!

I started off like that then I played Lan and beat all the boys with my Zerg army... felt good and I never turned back hahah.

Did you get the free version?! Maybe the kids will like it?

not yet I might not have the self control to break from it :P

I wanna play too! I'm a solid Necromancer guy when I played Diablo 2.

I want you to play too!! Haha

Seriously. It doesnt even matter if we're not on the same platform, as long as you give it a go.

I find it quite relaxing to just turn my brain off and go on automatic.

Wow, you are certainly intense. You lost me along the way there. I haven't been much of a gamer in years regrettably. I did sink a lot of time into the very first diablo many years ago. I pretty much swore off online gaming after Star Wars Galaxies and the New Game Experience. I was way to heart broken and distraught back then to even trust again :(

@phelimint lol yeh Ive been called that before :D

The last game I played before Diablo 3 was Farmville, then we moved and I lost internet connection so I was pretty much stuck with Diablo 3 for the last year :D

Sorry to hear about the bad experience with Star Wars Galaxies :( I looked it up, it's always sad when they shut down a game you invest in. Looks like people are keeping it alive though

https://www.kotaku.com.au/2016/09/star-wars-galaxies-is-dead-but-these-people-are-keeping-it-alive/

I hear you though. After Mafia Wars I'll never invest more of my money on a game than the initial purchase price.

I have read about some of those servers where they still host the game, but all my old gear and account and friends and guilds are long gone.

It does sound like your having a lot of fun though.

My season run this last season that I've posted about was a Necro with Rathma & Jesseth's. Such a great destructive build. And fun to play too, which some of the destructive ones aren't sometimes.

Really nice write up too. Have you really only got to L5 with a Barb? any plans on completing the set of L70s?

Pity about the split groups with console not being compatible with PC, but we live with that

Shut up. Did the season end already? I thought it just started and what are you on? Pc or console?

It is a shame. Back in the day wed all be on bnet lol

Yep only level 5. Hubby played the barb for ages, it paired up well with my WD but I hated its gameplay so I never really bothered. Tho I might get it to 70 just so its done lol

Ill take her out for a spin with hubby's WD - I built him a WD complete with Ancients and Augments for his bday lol and look at it come in handy right now :D

Nah, the season still has a while to go. I'm just done with my goals for the season. I play on PC

I can totally understand. The gameplay of some characters just don't fit for me either. In general, ranged isn't something I'm much of a fan of playing.

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think i'll stick to baby einstein ;)

Haha ;) you should give it a go! I find it very therapeutic :D

Ahahaha 1 in the family is enough!!

Hehe lets do Sims na lang lola.

What's that? Either bebe Einstein or bebe joy joy here ;)

Hahah I love the Sims too

heehee I got dizzy running multipe households in Sims, I loved designing their houses and making them fall in love and have twins!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bearone from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50