Deciding to power up Darkrai, more variety in Dark-type attackers

in #gaming5 years ago

thumbnail.jpg

Recently my Rare Candy had been starting so stack up, so I was wondering what I should put them in. There's not really any non-Legendary Pokémon I would currently want to power up and lack candy for, nor that I already really want to put more candy in. I also lacked any 100% IV Legendary that I haven't powered up yet and not too sure about any others. So I was not too sure on what to do with them. I already put several in Mewtwo before and could still power one up till max so I don't have to put any candy in for now. So I looked through my list of Legendary Pokémon to see if there was one I might wanna power up sooner or later. I saw my bunch of Darkrai and realised I had completely forgotten that I may have been able to power up one of them.

So lately whenever I lacked some inventory space I would give like 10 or 20 Rare Candy to Darkrai to get some more Darkrai Candy. Today before the Spotlight Hour my inventory was almost full like usual, it wouldn't be much of a problem during the mini event, because I could use berries to help clear out some more space compared to the items I get from spinning Pokéstops and Gyms. But it seemed to me that it would be best to make some extra room at least, so that I could also open some more gifts without my inventory being full again.

As I was planning to give enough Rare Candy to be able to actually power up a Darkrai to max level, I looked through the ones I had to find the best one to power up. 96% IV Darkrai is my highest and I have two of them. So it became this one with 15 attack and balanced defense and HP that I would level up to max!

Darkrai 96 percent IV.jpg

I already had some Darkrai Candy from catching it back when it was in Raids as part of the Halloween event. With the Rare Candy I have been occasionally putting in it that total amount has added up to 170. Since a level 20 Pokémon requires 248 candy to be powered up till max, I had to put 78 more Rare Candy into Darkrai as you can see here.

Darkrai Rare Candy.jpg

Now I have the candy ready to fully power up this Darkrai and I definitely have the Stardust too. So I started powering up my Darkrai and here you can see it after fully powering it up, standing strong at 3720 CP.

Darkrai powered up.jpg

Why did I choose to spend the Rare Candy on Darkrai?

First of all I prefer spending them on a Legendary/Mythical to power up, because it's harder to get candy for them with them usually only being available through Raids. So that was one of the main reasons I would look through them. Initially I wanted to power up my best Darkrai too, but I most likely didn't have enough Rare Candy for it at the end of the Halloween event and then it slipped my mind. Searching through my list of Legendaries/Mythicals recently helped me remind.

I also don't have a lot of good Dark-type attackers to use in Raids, or in other fights. Basically I have my Gyarados whom I learned Bite and Crunch and Waterfall as a 2nd Charged Attack, so that I can switch it between Dark and Water attacker. But it doesn't benefit from Same-Type Attack Bonus making it less viable than Pokémon who have the Dark-type. I've got my Weavile as well with Dark and Ice as Charged Attacks so I only have to switch the Fast Attack when I want to change the Type I'm using it for. It's currently set up as Ice-Type attacker.

Right now I don't have any Larvitar or Tyranitar with really high IV and max attack, so I haven't got any good Tyranitar with a Bite and Crunch moveset. I do have a few of them with lower IVs that aren't powered up that sometimes show up in Raids when Dark-type attacks are super effective. I don't really have any good Origin Forme Giratina due to not being able to really do any Raids when it was in them.

Thus I lack quite some really good variety when it comes to Dark-type attackers. Of course if Darkrai hadn't slipped my mind for such a while I might have already had a great Dark-type attacker. Now I finally have this one powered-up. I'm going to adjust my team when I fight the Team GO Rocket Grunts who say "Are you scared of physics that use unseen power?" as well. As that had my Gyarados as the first Pokémon. Next time I come across one of these I will put this Darkrai in the first slot and try it out. I might keep Gyarados in there as 2nd Pokémon and keep the Metagross I have in that list as the 3rd Pokémon.

Sort:  

That's very nice. I also have a pretty good Darkrai, but I haven't raised a level yet. I really should do that. At the moment my special candies are flowing into my third Lucario.

Screenshot_20200219120251_Pokmon GO.jpg Screenshot_20200219120256_Pokmon GO.jpg

!BEER !trdo !MARLIANS !COFFEEA !DERANGED !invest_vote

Congratulations @dotwin1981, you successfuly trended the post shared by @athunderstruck!
@athunderstruck will receive 1.38637575 TRDO & @dotwin1981 will get 0.92425050 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

That's also a lovely Darkrai, I would also recommend powering it up to max ! Today I fought a few Team GO Rocket Grunts but unfortunately none had Psychic so I haven't tried it out yet. Although it did show up in recommended for a battle in a gym.
Ooh your 3rd Lucario! Do you love using Lucario? I personally only have 1 Lucario so far which I do love using against some Team GO Rocket, especially against Giovanni to take out his shields fast.

Lucario is simply overpowering. Especially against TeamGO Rocket. With Powerup Punsh, he almost knocks out all the bullies and even all the bosses on his own. Even Sierra with her Psycho Pokémon. It's also my favourite Pokémon. It just seems really sympathetic. :)

Yeah I really love using mine against some of them with Powerup Punch, it wrecks their shields so easily! Do you plan on using 3 Lucario in those fights?
For fights in gyms or Raids where Fighting-type attacks are good it prefers suggesting my Machamp.
It is definitely an awesome Pokémon! I cherish my first one so much as I got it from an egg from a gift last year from a friend who has Lucario as one of her 6 favourite Pokémon. I was quite shocked my first Riolu hatched from an egg I got from her, and super happy at the same time! :D

coffeea Lucky you @athunderstruck here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness


Hey @athunderstruck, here is a little bit of BEER from @dotwin1981 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

@dotwin1981 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient! ----> Wer ist investinthefutur ?
@dotwin1981 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !----> Who is investinthefutur ?

Congratulations @athunderstruck, your post successfully recieved 1.38637575 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@dotwin1981 earned : 0.9242505 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64