You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here are 3 Advantages Of Older Video Games Over New Ones

in #gaming6 years ago

I agree with the couch co-op. Online multilpayer has become so common that most game developers don't even integrate this co-op mode anymore. Beat'em ups like DBZ or also racing games were games which I particularly loved playing with friends and it never got boring. I also agree with the "more challenging". I used to play Pokemon quite a lot, but over the years they leveled down the in-game opponents to "make it easier for young players". But when I was young the challenging level of opponents was exactly what I loved.

Sort:  

I loved the games of back in the day. Mario and Luigi was a classic. Then came "contra" . Then "sonic the hedgehog". Then came "Pokémon". Then came "the lion king". Then came "Street fighter". Those days were so fun! Thanks for the great work posted here and reminding us. Your so good.

And checkpoints every 10 seconds :p

Lmao,I live for those moments. Imagine if a game like Skyrim had no checkpoints=_=

Yes, there have been quite some games where the non-existence of them deleted hours of my playing...but on the other hand, the overabundance of them nowadays takes away the effort of developing a special strategy. On top of that, people will look up for the solution when they find themselves in a dead end. So back then there were games where there neither were as many checkpoints, making for the necessity of developing a strategy AND there was no internet where you could look up the solution. Both points I miss as well.

Witcher 3 had this 'insane mode' which did not allow you to die once, otherwise game over for good. You have to have strong nerves doing so. I mean, let's say you highly anticipate continuing the story and suddeny you die. Of course, those who chose that mode are aware of their decision and probably ok with that. Or finished the game once already.

love you :mario

Nice post follow thank you vote and follow you.

I agree completely. When we were young, games were more challenging. So what does that mean? Are kids not smart enough these days? I honestly don't get it. A big part of the fun in playing those games was figuring out a way to overcome the obstacles that the game threw at us. I'm not saying that every game has to be Demon/Dark Souls difficult, but not something that'll take a few hours to complete... and maybe that's it.

If you finish games quickly you'll need a new game to play. And companies that put out yearly installments of their games reap the benefits! You finished one game and now you have to buy the new one if you want more.

be creative, be adaptable..... excellent post !! Congratulations

I also think that most games leave out co-op mode is also because more players would rather have multiplayer. It seems it is part of the evolution of gaming now. I grew up with all these classics and yet I would not buy a game if it was just co-op. Crazy how things have changed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57455.52
ETH 2339.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35