Final Fantasy VII Remake Will Have Both Action-Oriented and Turn-Based Battles

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Despite the hit that the game Final Fantasy VII was in the 90s, I didn't have the opportunity to play it at the time. I've only played it just recently, a few years ago on my old PlayStation 2. I was halfway through the first disk (the game has three) when my PS2 began refusing to read PSX disks, and unfortunately my FF7 journey came to a halt. So, when I found out that Final Fantasy VII Remake would be coming to the PS4, I thought it would be my chance to take on my FF7 journey again, and maybe see it through to the end this time.

Picture of a Dualshock 4 (the PS4's controller)

Image source: by Evan-Amos [Public Domain], from Wikimedia Commons

At first, it seemed like the battles would be action-based. This was a worry for me, not only because battles in FF7 weren't like that, but because I prefer turn-based battles, where I can calmly think on what to do and choose the appropriate options.

However, at Tokyo Game Show 2019, producer Yoshinori Kitase demonstrated the game and revealed that, aside from the action-based battles where the player must frantically attack the enemy to fill the ATB Gauge and only then be able to choose spells, there is also an option called "Classic Mode," where the AI will be in charge of the action-packed attacking (though the player may also press the attack buttons and intervene if he/she so chooses) and once the ATB Gauge is full, the player will be able to call up the menus and calmly choose the spells like in a turn-based game, which makes the battles feel a bit closer to the original FF7 battles. One less worry for me, and probably a good strategy to please both the players who prefer action and who prefer turn-based battles.

Besides this revelation, producer Kitase also showed other things like a bit of the game's first stage (he showed Classic Mode during the boss battle, actually), another boss battle which included a summoning, and a minigame that whoever played the original FF7 will remember for sure!

Final Fantasy VII Remake will come out as games separated into episodes (we don't know how many yet), though it was revealed that the first game will consist of two Blu-ray disks and will cover the part of the story set in Midgar. The first game will be released for PS4 on March 3rd, 2020 worldwide.


Thank you for reading! This post is participating in the 52nd edition of @qurator's Toss Up Thursday contest. If you are also a member of @qurator, and if you liked my post and would like to support me, consider upvoting the comment with my entry (only upvotes from Qurator members count). The vote value doesn't matter (it can even be a minimal 1% upvote as long as it's from a Qurator member). Thank you!

Not a Qurator member yet? Then you may want to check out this post that explains what the project is all about, how to join, and how to get bigger upvotes from them. Registration is free!

Sort:  

This is great news! I played through all of Final Fantasy VII in the early 2000s, and it's still one of my all-time favorite RPGs. I've been really looking forward to the remake, but I was worried about the action-based combat. I like turn-based combat in RPGs, too, for pretty much the same reason you mentioned. So I'm relieved.

Have you played the other Final Fantasy games?

I've only played VII, a bit of Crisis Core FF7 (for PSP), and watched a few Final Fantasy X playthrough videos. I've looked into the other titles, but they didn't really call out to me... VII is the one I really like :D .

I can understand that. I think VII is the best of all of them. I liked IV and VI, too, back in the Super Nintendo days.

7 was a great choice for a remake and I am happy to see that the turn-based is going to be the focus since the real time stuff in 15 was kind of a failure in my opinion.

Squenix better not screw this up because i think a lot of their fanbase is going to be super critical if they manage to screw up what is generally regarded as one of the top RPG's ever made.

I haven't played 15 and can't say much about it except that I looked it up and it didn't pique my interest at all :P . I've heard it has a lot of problems, and I really hope the same won't happen to 7's remake...

Squenix better not screw this up because i think a lot of their fanbase is going to be super critical if they manage to screw up what is generally regarded as one of the top RPG's ever made.

100% agreed. They're sure taking their time to develop the remake. Hopefully this translates into a great product in the end.

hopefully they learned a lot from the mistakes made in 15 and don't apply really any of what was in that mess into this game.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to aiyumi! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

This post has been promoted with @minnowbooster.
5% of the purchase will be burned and 5% sent to the @steem.dao fund as part of our ethical promotion initiative.
For further information please check this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97