You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rabbit and the moon - How should I handle difficulty?

in #gaming7 years ago

I'll start by answering the main question:

do you prefer way more difficult games? Or do you like something fairly standard where there's the option to up the difficulty later.

I rather play easy games than difficult ones, I'm not someone who loves to spend much time in a game to master it (unless I love the game for other reasons)!!

But I don't like the "option to up the difficulty later" because this often leaves the game with fake difficulty. Don't do that unless you are really good designer who can make that "fair". I'm sure this video will Help you a lot:


watch it, it's made by people who know what they're doing.

however is there such a thing as making a game too difficult especially for release?

In my opinion there's nothing called "too difficult" there's a thing called"Unfairly Difficult". Every level of difficulty have players who are so into it!!

I wrote so much here, but decided to make it its own post instead, the short version of it is "Make it Fair" and "Market it to people who like that sort of Difficulty".


Just wanna add that this is an opinion based on what I've played/read/heard... as a gamedev I tend to make (easy games) and didn't complete making even those.

Sort:  

Of course, by 'difficult' I don't mean the cheap methods that developers use which is why I mentioned the 9000hp thing, I would purpose build these levels for players who want way more of a challenge. Thanks for your comment it seems your of a similar sort of mind as me, I guess as long as I don't up the difficulty cheaply if I choose to I'll not screw everything up.

It's just that classic problem with balance, I can't make a game so difficult it's almost impossible to get through otherwise people would just rage quit, but then again, there are extremely difficult games like Gemotry Dash and Darksouls which are quite popular though.

I guess this is another one of those types where you just have to roll with it and see what happens, the problem is, I do quite enjoy a challenging game. So my version of difficult is going to be different from everyone else's because I've been gaming since I was a child.

So my version of difficult is going to be different from everyone else's because I've been gaming since I was a child.

If you can try giving the game to a sample audience and ask them for their opinion. If you don't to "spoil" the game for them, just make a prototype of levels.

I'm writing a post about what makes a difficulty good (some parts of it are in the video though)

Hi again @lethn1.... I published the article with my full advice:
https://steemit.com/gaming/@ahmadmanga/hard-games-is-the-game-difficult-or-unfair-how-to-make-a-videogame-more-fair-to-players

Hope you read it and give me your opinion!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48