[My Experience] Installing Final Fantasy VIII Mods

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

This post is about how I learned that installing mods on FFVIII is easier than I thought.

skfuk9d2ri.jpg!

Final Fantasy VIII

Learning how to add mods (especially those depending on Tonberry mod,) wasn't easy at first. There were two ways to install the mods:

Since I couldn't donate to Lunatic Pandora Project, I decided to install everything separately.

First I downloaded Tonberry mod, it seems it does nothing by itself but most of the mods need it installed before working. But I didn't know that at first and was disappointed that the mod didn't work.


Left: Original | Right: SeeD Reborn Mod
I like the original portraits better, the modded ones have less color in them.

I thought you need to install additional programs for the mods to work. Luckily it wasn't the case after I got Tonberry mod all I needed was to put its files in the root folder of Final Fantasy VIII, after that I followed the guide on how to put other mods.

SeeD Reborn & Project Hellfire

Seed reborn is described as "Text, Menu, and GUI Overhaul by MCINDUS" I thought it was the most interesting mod because the text is the thing that we see the most in the game, and I loved the font used.

Project Hellfire was the second mod to download and install, it overhauls the textures of GFs (Guardian Forces/Summons)


Left: Original | Right: Project Hellfire
Ifrit is here to show you who's the boss!

Installing them is intuitive: After you download them, you just have to put the texture files in the textures folder of Tonberry, and put the hashmap *.csv file in Tonberry's hashmap folder.

Most of the other mods like Rebirth Flame (Player Characters) Apocalypse (Bosses) and Lunar Cry (Enemies) are installed the same way.


These mods work perfectly with the Steam version, though you can't open Steam overlay and the graphic mods game at the same time.


Other Mods

Some mods I haven't installed are the Music mods. The most popular of which is called "Roses and Wine." It's the essential mod for many players since the PC version have lower quality music than the PS1 version. (By having only *.midi music.)

I'm not a music guy myself so I haven't installed it.

I also haven't installed the large mods like the Background overhaul or Triple Traid ones, I might install them eventually but I'm not in a hurry to do that right now.

FFVIII: Fully Voiced?!

Since I'm talking about mods anyway, there's a mod in-making and I hope we see the success of it. The fully voiced mod... The team that's making it is trying hard to make the project a success.

They've released a two voiced clips: One about Squall's Garden speech, I wrote a post about it a few weeks ago. The others has more characters, you can watch it above or on youtube.

Final Thoughts

While I like playing a modded version of games, I'd love my first playthrough to be as pure as possible, that's why I waited until recently to install FFVIII mods.

Sadly, RPG games like these require a lot of time making me not sure if I'll do a modded playthrough of the game.

What do you think?

Do you play FFVIII or Final Fantasy games in general? Did you mod any game before? What are your thoughts about this post?

I'm looking forward to reading your comments!

If you're interested, you can read my Final Fantasy VIII review or Check out my games shop: @ahmadgameslist where I offer something for everyone.


All images are screenshots from FFVIII taken by me. Squall speech video is owned by FF8 Vice over Project.
Sort:  

Will be honest, I am not much of a gamer but I have heard of this game
I know it is very popular, I have heard the kids talk about it
hmmm, takes a lot of time eh?...
Thank you for sharing :D

Thanks for reading!! Yeah the series is popular but this entry (VIII => 8) is less popular than the previous entry (VII => 7.)

The current entry in the series is FFXV which I believe is what the kids you mentioned have talked about.

hmmm, takes a lot of time eh?...

Yup, around 70 hours for the whole story at average... and it's not the longest Final Fantasy.

Wow... that would explain why they spend so much time on those gamers who walk you through the games they are playing hehe

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

Now we're in the big money zone, now we're talking! Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Coolio.gif

Congratulations @ahmadmanga! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The process at first seems daunting but it gets pretty easy after you get the hang of it.

My favorite non graphical mod is Roses and Wine which ads the ps1 music into the pc version.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55