[Gaming Experience: Virtua Cop 2] My First PC Game, Before PC Gaming Was a Thing

in #gaming5 years ago

When my father brought our first Windows PC to the house in the early 00's. The computer came with two games pre-installed. I was too young to remember their names but as I found out years later, one of them was called: Virtua Cop 2!

t0723u.jpg

Virtua Cop 2 is a sequel to the "Light Gun" Arcade Shooter developed by SEGA. It was released on 1995 and since then, it was ported to Sega Saturn, Dreamcast and PS2.

The game features three levels in which the player character moves on his/her own in a pre-determined path, and you have to shoot criminals before they shoot back. There is a boss at the end of each level as well as a final boss after all the levels are finished.

The game is pretty short by today's standard but it's challenging enough (especially in a "No Damage" run.)


I found a full playthrough video of the game on YouTube:


I loved Virtua Cop 2 so much back in the day. I wasn't good at it, but the 3D characters and models felt so life-like at the time. In my childhood however I wasn't able to reach the boss of any of the levels at the time.

When I played the game a a kid with my brother, we took turns trying to beat each other in reaching more of the game. If the memory didn't fail me I think we managed to beat the game one time, but I don't remember much past the beginning of the levels.

310oqg.jpg

We didn't get to play the game for a long time. One day, I broke the windows software and we had to send the PC to a computer shop to fix it. They formatted the PC and we lost everything that was on it. (Goodbye, my crappy MS Paint drawings.)

For years I didn't play an experience similar to Virtua Cop!

There were only two games I played in my life that were similar to that game. One of them is House of the Dead which was basically Virtua Cop with Zombies! It was published by SEGA too so I guess it was by the same developer?

The second one is rather obscure... It was a Flash game in which you fight stick figures, (anybody remembers Flash?) I forgot its name but it was perfectly done and I wished I could make a similar game one day.

Finally, I did some research and it seems Virtua Cop didn't recieve any modern re-release or at least preserved on sites like GOG. That's shame because I'm sure this game would still be fun today, and there aren't a lot of games that give similar experience.

What do you think?

I'll write more of these #GamingExperience articles, I already wrote two of these about Digimon World 3. (Fighting Pharaohmon and Zanbamon,) I love writing these nostalgia filled articles! Games were fun back in the day~

For more gaming content follow me on Twitter: @ahmadmanga
Or here on Steem Blockchain.


The images are screenshots from the YouTube video linked above.
Sort:  

i 1st played this on the sega saturn with the light gun. fun game

Wow, it's nice to see people who played the game here on Steem! I never played the game with a Light Gun, but it felt right at home with Mouse. (No keyboard needed to play in the PC ver.)

Thanks for reading and commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80