[Gaming Experience: Digimon World 3] Memories with Zanbamon

in #gaming5 years ago

Digimon World 3 is one of the games I played as a child. As I said in my previous post, my understanding of English was minimal, so I skipped a lot of dialouge and had a hard time understanding the story (which is pretty good as I learned years later.) I played the first 5 hours of the game more times than I can count, and I have a lot of good memories with the game.


Minor Story Spoilers If You Didn't Play The Game


eyv574.png

Zanbamon is a boss in the first third of the Digimon World 3. He is first seen blocking the path in Jungle Boneyard in the South Sector. Since the player has to proceed he challenges this Mega Level Digimon. The fight that ensues is a difficulty spike in a game full of difficulty spikes.

I have to say, the whole level felt brilliant.
Zanbamon's minions (Musyamon) are the most difficult enemies
when you first reach Jungle Boneyard!

In the first fight against Zanbamon, you're not supposed to win, but just endure the fight for few turns (or just Run Away.) My younger self didn't know that, and getting %70 of my life bar decreased with one attack was a big surprise.

"How I could defeat this?!" I must have thought.

I'm sure I did survive enough time for the battle to end the first time I battled Zanbamon. But I didn't know what to do next, to get past him. Turns out I had to do a very long fetch quest that I probably spent a lot of time looking at the wrong places for.

Digimon World 3 is full of these "talk to everyone until something happens." and to get past Zanbamon you had to get Smelly Herb from Spekimon who wants to get his Mask back from the East Sector... It's a long story. At least it helps makes the grind seem purposeful (Digimon World 3 is a heavy grindy game.)

hpi1ms.png
He doesn't like the smell...

After getting past Zanbamon to continue the story, he and his minions can be fought again at an area called Catacomb. He is strong, but after more than a few quests and gaining levels he can be beaten! Zanbamon's intimdating introduction made finally beating him much more satisfying!

The only other boss that gave me as much headache as Zanbamon
was Knightmon but that's a story for another day.

For now you can read my experience with Pharaohmon, an earlier boss from the same game. Want more Digimon? Read my review of Digimon World 1 & 2, or the Card Game.

For more gaming content follow me on Twitter: @ahmadmanga
Or here on Steem Blockchain.


The images are taken from this Let's Play on LPArchieve. and Here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76