[First Impression] Shuyan Saga

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Shuyan Saga's first hour establishes the atmosphere, the story & the gameplay in an amazing way.

First_Impression_Shuyan.jpg

This post is part of my "First Impression" series. Here's what I do in these:

I decided to play as many games from my backlog and for each think whether I'd try finishing them or not. Since many of them are from Indiegala you can guess the chances.

Shuyan Saga

Shuyan Saga is an "Action Graphic Novel." It's an original story set in a world inspired by Chinese Myths. The story follows Shuyan a princess of one of the five kingdoms. She's also a Kung-fu fighter.

What will happen to her as the peaceful age over the five kingdoms have ended.

Summoning A Tiger.jpg
"The Guer attack from the west. Led by the power-hungry tyrant, Ganbataar."

The Art is unique and beautifully done.
It feels like a comic book with Chinese touch to it.

Story Sections

Most of the game is told as a story like a graphic novel where you have to make choices sometimes. When Shuyan fights the game changes to a battle screen with 3D visuals. Shuyan Saga changes seamlessly between the story and battle parts.

OverStall_or_ThroughCrowd.jpg
Story & Choices

While the game is in story mode, sometimes you have to make choices, the way they implemented this makes this part of the game feel like a Telltale game.

I love how the story emphasis on Shuyan's love for fighting.

iag0thgfhq.jpg
Shhh... Don't tell her mother.

Battle Sections

When in a fight, the gameplay screen changes to a 3D battle screen. One-on-one fights are different than group fights. The controls are easy: Left click attacks either high or low depending on where you click. Right click is used to guard.

One-On-One-Battle.jpg
The Battle Screen.

The game feels optimized for touchscreen (using, tap term instead of click.) Still, Shuyan Saga is a PC game and doesn't seem out of place on windows.

Final Thoughts

70qcl7bijp.jpg
The art of Kung-fu

In the less than an hour I played, the game managed to make me love it. Everything felt polished and the scenes felt fast-paced (I finished 4 chapters already.) The art and the voice acting is on the mark too.

As a first impression, I believe that this game won't take long to complete. I think at some point Shuyan will get involved in the war and will have to make some hard choices.

And this is my first impression on the game,
Now it's higher up in my backlog as I feel completing it won't take a long time from me as some games did.

Will I do complete run of this game?

Yup! I really hope so.


Cover image is using the game's header some early game screenshot. All screenshots are taken by me, from Shuyan Saga's Steam Ver.
Sort:  

In recognition of your great content, we at UltimaCorp have rewarded you with an upvote!

We represent STEEMPUNK-NET, the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

If you dare, step into the Clockwork Arena and test your skills against other Steemians.

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

I love its visual appeal, it's very artistic and detailed, I hope that those decisions we make will make a significant difference in the story, I will definitely play it. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, I completely agree!

I love its visual appeal...

I hope that those decisions we make will make a significant difference in the story...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86