You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What becoming a brutal dictator can tell us about living

in #games7 years ago

I've got my hand on Hearts Of Iron III and it's great, but just like you say the best way to progress is to become a totalitarian communist or fascist dictatorship. Although the people I know who have played a bit are all libertarian or liberal, which is a bit contradictory.

Sort:  

It's interesting, I wonder is it contradictory really. I read this by poster agj on a forum when I was researching this post:

In my opinion, the fact that those games reflect fascism is only because they follow the same structure as most games in any genre: winning means defeating the opposition, and in this case it's nations involved. There's also the fact that history usually gives great importance to the various armed conflicts among civilizations.

Maybe it doesn't mean much and we're just playing a game 🤔 But then again it does have meaning for some people. I'm going to think more about that an explore it next time I think.

What the subject of the forum says is precise, because in almost all these games what matters is not to generate greater national progress, social development, etc, etc. The important thing is really to achieve domination and conquer countries, win the war, where the totalitarian countries showed greater mobility and more flexibility.

Although I do not think that the impact that these games can generate on people are neither too many nor too negative, even more important is their environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58