My First Experience With Dungeons and Dragons

in #games6 years ago (edited)

I promised myself this year that I am going to take advantage of as many new experiences in life as I can because I don’t ever want to have regrets or live life on the sidelines.

I was asked last week if I wanted to try playing Dungeons and Dragons (D&D) in a group that was forming in Virginia Beach. At first I kinda cringed because of the stigma that surrounds people that play D&D. But, who I am to judge something that I know nothing about, right?


Photo from Geek and Sundry

I hesitated for about thirty seconds before responding that I would love to learn how to play and asked if my friend would help me to build a character because I had no idea how since I had never played before.

The First Night

Tonight was the first group meetup at a comic book store that I had never been to before. It was easy enough to find and there were at least 30 people sitting around tables when I got there. I was not expecting such a big turn out haha.

I was nervous listening to everyone talk about the upcoming campaign because they were so detailed in their explanations and expectations. I didn’t know if I would be able to keep up with them straight out the gate.

I shouldn’t have worried though because the group was very patient with me and allowed me to ask so many questions. I didn’t feel too bad though because I pick things up pretty quickly.

The DM was pretty creative actually and voiced the different characters in a different voice each time. And he really was able to come up with a great storyline that offered some surprises while holding your attention.

Thoughts on Moving Forward

The group that I played with was so patient with me and I am grateful to have had this experience. I do plan on going back next week because I actually did have fun.

I called my sister after I left the comic book store and told her about the experience and she laughed because her husband plays too at a group out in West Virginia close to where they live. I didn’t know that he played until last night but that’s funny.

I chose to play as a wood elf rogue charlatan and my dexterity and intelligence are quite high while my charisma is next to nothing. So, I wont be persuading anyone anytime soon with that character hehe.

My backstory is pretty simple but I’ll add to it as I go. My character grew up in a wealthy family but my mother died when I was young and my father sent me off to boarding school with only some clothing and an emerald necklace that had belonged to my mother.

I fell in with a rough crowd and we planned on stealing something valuable from a local merchant to sell for cash that we didn’t need but the expedition went wrong and a friend died. My friends were jailed but I ran away and I have been on the run ever since.

I don’t form attachments to others because I’m scared to lose someone again and my main motivation is money because that’s all I care about.

If anyone has feedback on the backstory or ways to make it better then I am all ears! I didn’t want to write a cliché story like everyone else seems to do.

Thanks for reading!

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information, leave a comment on this post, or reach out to me on Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

Sort:  

D&D is awesome. I have a group I play with every week. Sometimes I feel like I'm too tired to go but I get it together because everyone is depending on me to be there, and I always end up having an amazing time. It's all about the people you play with, especially the DM of course. Stick with it!

I can totally relate to what you're saying. I sat in traffic for a good while to get out there and I was terrified that I was going to be late! It's a drive to get out to that comic book store but the group is pretty awesome and so patient with the newbie (me). Thanks for a wonderful comment!
Ivy

It's a game that doesn't really have much of a learning curve (compared to something like Magic the Gathering). All you really need to do is bring your imagination and roll some dice when someone tells you to!

I was having scatterbrained issues at first trying to figure out which die to use haha. But, I've gotten the hang of it now and I enjoyed my first experience. The hardest part was trying not to laugh at the voices of the other players honestly. They went above and beyond to get into character.
Ivy

How fun!

I use to play with a group but we disbanded after a few months (scheduling conflicts). We always talk of doing it again and I look forward to that.

My niche character is a rogue dark elf with high charisma and sneakiness. I like to pickpocket characters for fun. What can I say?

Your comment made me laugh! I like that choice of character based on my limited experience in the D&D world. I can understand scheduling conflicts. A couple of the guys in the group typically work nights so they may have to take time off or something in order to be able to play if they end up getting scheduled to work that night. I hope you are able to get your group back together!
Ivy

Good luck on your adventures!

Thanks!
Ivy

Hey socent, this brings back memories. I spent weeks working on my backstory as a drow priestess. :)

I learnt so much on my first and only campaign!

Your backstory sound fine too!

Looking forward to hearing more of your D&D adventures!

Oh wow! You spent weeks on your backstory?! I guess I need to work on mine a lot more then lol. Mine took an afternoon as I used Google to figure out what a backstory should contain (super noob over here). I have already learned so much from this experience so I totally can relate to that!
Thanks for such a wonderful comment :)
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65