Games that really piss me off: Trine

in #games7 years ago

Maybe I actually don't hate it


(Source)


I got this game years ago on a steam sale, but I never picked it up. I sat down to play this game last week to get it over with and I got so frustrated, but then I ended up enjoying it in a strange masochistic twist.

Plot:

In a medieval fantasy world, a thief, a mage, and a knight are bound together in spirit by a magical doo-dad. It is the standard fare. Kill the undead, make it to the castle, save the kingdom. Ok ok

Gameplay:

Each of the 3 characters has their own set of abilities and you can switch through them to make it through the sidescroller puzzle-type levels. The puzzle mechanics are actually fun, but the game relies too much on spam-jumping and platformer mechanics that were kind of clunky. By kind of clunky, I mean absolutely maddening. You will miss jumps that make no sense because the physics engine doesn't seem to believe that forward momentum applies to jumps the way it actually does in real life. This makes fast jump puzzles absolutely stupid frustrating.

Graphics:

For an older game, the graphics have aged very well and it is a pleasant viewing experience.

Music:

Actually amazing. Perfect for the atmosphere and it is still stuck in my head a week later.

Bosses:

Are dead simple, the final boss is killed in a cut scene after no fighting. Boo!

Review: 7/10

It is almost criminal that this game is so old, but the movements mechanics are still so clunky. Otherwise the aesthetic experience was fantastic and I felt a genuine achievement for the most part by completing it.

Sort:  

Good post.Thanks for sharing it

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

7/10 score is not so bad I think. Maybe that game is worth a try. Thanks for sharing it here.

Ori And The Blind Forest. SUPERB side scroller.

The most amazing part is that it is already a trilogy! Trine 1, 2 and 3. And I hope they can still launch the 4th because it really is very interesting. Although I only played Trine 1, I'm still playing the other two because I found the story to be very interesting.

The score you gave it's correct, and in my opinion, no less or more.

I have to agree. The mechanics of Trine are maddening sometimes. I wanted to enjoy this game franchise so much when it first hit but I was turned off due to the controls. I just have trouble wrapping my head around the whole mouse/keyboard control scheme - same for "classics" like Abuse which uses a similar control scheme. I just cannot get over it.

Another game, that I think works better with this keyboard/mouse control scheme is Max and the Magic Marker. It also doesn't have any fast paced jump puzzles to deal with either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72