You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How stoked are you for the Final Fantasy 7 remake?

in #games5 years ago

I'm tentatively excited. I have this odd relationship with the Final Fantasy series. I think of all the games I've played other than the MMOs fondly, but of all of them I only finished Crisis Core, and that mostly because I had it on a portable and it didn't have too much competition.

Sort:  

There were a couple that I didn't love such as the X-2 game. The first mmo was a disaster. Even though they patched it several times only the really hardcore ppl stuck around. It was a serious grind-fest and certain items were only dropped by one person (not a type of enemy, one specific enemy) so if you were wandering around a all of a sudden a crap-load of players were standing somewhere... you knew why.

The latest MMO was decent, but the proliferation of fetch and return quests, sometimes through unnecessarily long hallways and towers was seriously stupid. I couldn't stick around for that.

I haven't played all that many of the Final Fantasy games, being predominantly a PC gamer and not always having access to recent consoles. XII was one of my favorites, though; it took me years to get around to finally playing it, and I really was surprised by how well it had held up when I finally got to it, though I was also emulating it and I could skip forward in time to make the grind a little less awful.

I bounced off of XIV hard. A lot of people had hyped it up for me, but it just wasn't my sort of game.

I was one of the people super stoked for ff14. It is actually quite expensive a game for an MMO. The game is beautiful but combat is actually pretty dumb. The thing that killed 14 for me was the endless fetch-quests that had you senselessly running all over the damn place and almost always forced you to run back to where you got the quest from which would be ages from where the instance was.

That game sucks and just goes to show that graphics are not everything... you need a much better user experience... kinda like Steemit needs a better user experience :P

By the time I played it it had already been out a couple years, and everyone seemed way ahead of me. I remember a lot of walking and a few moments of hitting numbers on my keyboard. I generally don't care for most MMORPGs, but FF14 just couldn't hold my interest for more than a few hours. I'm glad I played during a free trial, because while it wasn't the worst game I've ever played it wasn't one I'd care to stick around with too long.

Are you on Steempeak? I've switched to using it for both desktop and mobile use, and I find it fantastic.

Never heard of steempeak until just now. I gotta take le doge for a walk but will dig into it when i return. does it have a decent chat interface? That is something I think most of these things are missing including partiko

No chat, sadly, but everything else is heads and shoulders above.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44