Games Workshop Warhammer 40,000 Space Ork Raiders (part 6)

in #games7 years ago (edited)

I have been distracted from Warhammer this week, but I have a new idea to share today! I also have some mistakes to share so you don't waste time on the same dead ends.

Previous posts

Part 1: Unboxing
Part 2: Big Mek
Part 3: Flash Git
Part 4: Refinement
Part 5: Green Stuff and a Meganob

Another Nob/Flash Git

I decided I wanted a Nob with upgraded twin sluggas, so I extended the barrels with styrene tubing and added some axe heads clipped from leftover choppa arms as bayonets

Back when I put together my engine hoist, I saved some of the textured plastic straps that wrapped the boxes. I thought it might make an interesting texture for bases or vehicle models. But the plastic used seems to not have much affinity for super glue. I may try a different glue later, but for now I'll advise against using the stuff without further tests. I later ripped the plastic off with no effort after it had all night to cure.

Base Experiment

I also experimented again with a second 25mm to 40mm base expansion. I traced around a 25mm base on the underside of a 40mm base, and used the pin vise to drill a series of closely-spaced holes where the 25mm base would fit. I then used clippers to trim between the holes, and wrapped some sandpaper around a dowel rod to make the hole smooth and round.

After that, I mixed another glob of green stuff and formed it into a snake shape to border the hole before adding a plasticard bottom panel. I do suggest using this technique for any similar projects. I have seen some cool bases that use a version of this technique to create puddles or recessed detail work.

DSC00391.JPG

This guy will need some extra bitz added for final embellishment, and obviously a head, but this guy has potential to look cool once I am done.

The Meganob

DSC00396.JPG

I have started building armor for the Meganob, and I decided to try adding bullet impact craters to the chest piece. A long time ago, I read a model airplane forum post about adding bullet holes to distress a diorama aircraft by heating a paper clip in a lighter flame.

The white reflective plasticard makes photography difficult, but I think this picture at least shows the result of my test. It looks pretty good in person once I trimmed away the trailing strands of plastic the clip dragged along every time I withdrew it from a new bullet hole. And the added holes will hopefully help my creation blend in better with my old-school metal Meganob that has similar battle damage in its design.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

Looking at your hobby i have to ask. Will you adhere the calling your geekiness?

Well, I have been posting about collectible card games and tabletop miniatures for a long time already...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77