Final Fantasy XIV (game) : my return is so far ok

in #games6 years ago
Like most gamers with a flair for RPG's, I love the Final Fantasy franchise. I feel as though they are some of the most perfectly designed games of all time and a neat little piece of history is that they are called FINAL fantasy is because years ago (in the 80's i think) SquareSoft was running out of money and was going to make their FINAL game. However it ended up being one of the most widely celebrated games of all time, made them a bazillion dollars, and sparked what has become one of the most praised franchises of all time.

They have tried their hands at online games in the past (Final Fantasy XI) and it was a disaster. A realm reborn was their second foray into MMO's and it has been extremely successful. I played it once before any since I was a Guild Wars 2 fan, I was not keen on the monthly subscription fee (Guild Wars has none.) However, my childhood friend was on there so I played anyway and i get a free month (it may have been 2) with the purchase of the game. I ended up leaving after that.

Recently FF has gone free-to-pay indefinitely with a level cap of 35. I don't even know what the max level is but it is higher than 35.

6a597ecc8565b228f89325595cb9c6f8b42a6e85.jpg

Now i want to say this right out of the gate: This game is spectacularly beautiful and to top things off it is able to achieve this level of pixel-driven wonder without slowing down my rather mid-range laptop. For some reason Guild Wars 2 is not able to achieve that and frequently "stutters" which is pretty much the most annoying thing that can happen in an MMO.

The problem I have with this game now is the same problem I had with it a long time ago. It is repetitive as can be. I have been told that upon getting to higher levels this stops being the case but at least for now I am just running around doing what for the most part is stupid assignments of "get that thing" "kill 4 of those" and lather rinse repeat. It's boring and beautiful.

The only break in this duldrum is the dungeons, which thankfully you don't even need to walk to in order to participate in. I don't know if it was always that way but i am pleased that it is now.

final-fantasy-14-patch.jpg

The jury is still out for me as to whether or not anyone should get involved in this because as it stands right now I am basically just hitting ALL of my skills because there doesn't seem to really be any sort of strategy necessary in order to win. This is largely because I am not yet skilled at it. For the time being i think that Square-Enix is making the right choice in order to attempt to acquire new players because I think the world will soon be transitioning to new MMO's. This includes my favorite, GW2.

Here is some gameplay compiled by Kinsara of the class that i currently play (poorly)

While the "trial" is free for an unlimited amount of time, the game must still be purchased. At $20 that isn't a bad price for such a massive game but be prepared to #getyerlearnon because this game is absolutely massive and a bit on the complicated side.

PS. I hate the map system :P

Sort:  

I played it a bit but could never really warm up to it for some reason probably because I was overwhelmed despite not being a stranger to mmoprgs and final fantasy

tell me about it, there is so much information in this game. I am a casual player and will likely never get into the higher end game mechanics but hey, as long as i don't have to pay for it it is a great time waster.

ever tried path of exile?

i have not... do you recommend it?

I really like it. If you like Diablo especially part 2 give it a go.

It is free as well

well i do enjoy free! :) I'll check it out... thanks for the tip!

Game animation is look so cool in this pic. Thjs pic is look like heavy desingers of chines game. Purchasing is 20$ as you said gruely speaking might it is not so worth for this game you can get sone more good option of game in this amount. Over all good one.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, one thing i really like about this game is the massive attention they paid to beauty in the game. I am at a loss as to how that doesn't slow down my gameplay because the graphics are superior to Guild Wars 2 and I am constantly lagging in that game. I suppose it is a server-side thing.

nice to play The game released to largely positive reception critics praised the game for its solid mechanics and progression and they commended Yoshida for turning the project around The first major content patchA Realm Awokenwas deployed in December 2013 and introduced player housing player versus player arena battles new quests and the first 24player raid Crystal Tower Subsequent content patches have been released every three months After a poor 2013 fiscal year Square Enix executives attributed the companys 2014 return to profitability in part to the games strong sales and subscriber baseas of 2018 the game has reached a cumulative total of over 14 million registered players The first expansion pack titled Heavensward was released in June 2015 The second expansiontitled Stormblood debuted in June 2017 which also marked the end of service for the PlayStation 3 client A third expansion Shadowbringers was announced on November 16 2018 and is scheduled to release in early summer 2019

hey man, please dont copy/paste from wikipedia.

For one thing it is obvious that this is what was done - no one knows these details off the top of their heads - probably not even executives at Square.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Final_Fantasy_XIV

It isn't necessary on my blog to have some sort of meaningful addition to the content in order to get an upvote from me. You can type just about anything and i will give you something back.

Final Fantasy XIV
Final Fantasy XIV is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) developed and published by Square Enix. Directed and produced by Naoki Yoshida, it was released worldwide for Microsoft Windows and PlayStation 3 in August 2013, with clients for PlayStation 4 and macOS following later. The game, known as Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, is a replacement for the 2010 version of Final Fantasy XIV, which was shut down after negative reception at its launch. Final Fantasy XIV takes place in the fictional land of Eorzea, five years after the events of the original release.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72