You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How stoked are you for the Final Fantasy 7 remake?

in #games5 years ago

I spent so much time playing that game on my computer. All of the chocobo races to get the golden chocobo so I could get the knights of the round summon. I still think Shiva was probably one of my favorite summons. Either that or Anima. It will be interesting to see how they update the summon scenes. I don't really mind the random encounters. There is something about the grind that I enjoy.

Sort:  

Well that later games (and i don't remember which did it first, it might have been 10) where arrows would get drawn to your character's head if an enemy was in pursuit of you. At that point you had to take evasive action or face off against it - it did not go to a different screen for the battle- which meant if you decided to run and attracted the attention of a bunch of other baddies, you were going to be seriously overwhelmed at the end of a hallway or something. I found that to be way more interesting and you could still grind if you wanted to.... you just weren't forced into it.

That doesn't sound familiar with X but it has been a long time since I played it. I remember spending a lot of time playing Blitzball with X.

Turns out it is Final Fantasy 12 i am thinking of. It was the first title to eliminate random encounters. They were able to force certain battle on platforms of sorts by making the killing of the mobs necessary to advance. According to what I have read (because you made me go hmmmmm) FF 15 has a completely revamped combat system so now I am crossing my fingers even more that it will turn up in the mail today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45