The Weekly Rant EP 03 - Name a Game You Just Can't Love (Sadface) - #GamersUnited

in #gamersunited6 years ago (edited)

Weekly Rant #3.png

Look forward to these, they're a great opportunity to chat with the mods, the GU community at large, and if you're not a member of #GamersUnited, this is a great time to find out more about our awesome people! That's more or less our goal. We want to set up an open mic that anyone can contribute to. And most importantly, this is a great way to get to know your fellow members!

Topic of the week:

What is one game you really want to love, but just...can't? What about it keeps you from loving this game?

Sound off in the comments below, and let us know what you think about posts like these. If you like them, let us know! If you don't like them, let us know. You know which ones we'll listen to and which ones we'll ignore. (kidding, kidding...)

Ready, set, go!


A weekly post series created by @ddrfr33k,
a moderator of the @GamersUnited community!

@GamersUnited is a brand new SteemIt curation group for everything gaming! Join our Discord channel and use #GamersUnited in your posts for a chance to be featured in our daily digest/curation posts!

Already a member, or simply want to help us grow so we can reward our members even more?
Please consider delegating SP to our cause:
25SP,50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP
Want to delegate more? Contact @GetSlothyy if you have or need help!

Sort:  

Hmmmm.... good question. I'd say any nintendo games like Zelda or Mario. They look cool, and people always sing their praises, but when I play them I just wanna go play something better.

I find that I like every Mario game, EXCEPT the main flagship titles. I love Mario Kart, Dr. Mario, Mario Party, but the main Mario Games just don't do it for me.

Mario and Zelda games are my shit, lol. I can finish any main flagship titles in one sitting (Let's hope I can stream this in the future!) But I cannot for the life of me get into the handheld games on the portable systems of any of those series, I get bored in like 5 minutes of gameplay.

It's hard to tell. To many of them. To many to remember :D - To be honest maybe Assassin's Creed Game series. So many people loves it but me? Meh, I prefer the old and marvelous Prince of Persia: Warrior Within.

And it's hard to remember whit game I tried to love but I fail because so many titles I forgot because I didin't have time to end it or there was other new games.

fallout series is a good example of tying to love ... But I have this games in friendzone ;)

Yeah, I can see how not everyone would like Assassin's Creed. It certainly has it's issues, from gameplay to story to Ubisoft fucking it up every chance they get.

I've only finished one of these games (Black Flag) but I always tend to drop them because I get bored of doing the same thing over and over in the same sneaky way and with a map so big... It just doesn't seem to catch me.

I liked Assassin's Creed 2 and Black Flag a lot; the original, and pretty much every other one (I'm looking at my shelf, and Brotherhood, Revelations, and 3 come to mind) really didn't do it for me. I didn't even give Rogue, Unity or Syndicate a chance, and my backlog is so big at this point that I forgot Origins even came out :|

I hardly think I'll get into the franchise again. Also, even if I did like Black flag and the original (forgot to mention) Brotherhood, revelation and 3 were just exactly the ones I dropped. I'm afraid it'll turn like something that looks like CoD but I think it's already getting there...

looks like we have pretty similar tastes then... or we're super basic and we all hate the same things :D

I mean, hating on things together is kindof fun (?)

I cannot into Bethesda RPGs to save my life. I've tried Fallout 3, Fallout 4, Skyrim, they just can't hold it for me. I know they're great games, I love the music, I like the in-jokes (Lusty Argonian Maid ftw!), I like everything about them EXCEPT actually playing them. I'll create a new character, do the tutorial, get started in a few quests, and...

then...

well...

I just get bored. It's the weirdest thing. I don't know why, but it's happened multiple times across multiple games. Couldn't explain it if I tried.

Whaaat Fallout 3 and NV are epic D:

It's not for lack of trying, either! I dropped a good 45 hours into FO3 between 3 different characters. After raiding that grocery store for the survival guide in Megaton, I lose interest. I can't venture out too far, never really figured out how to get VATS to play nice, and I would get murdered by different roaming bands of raiders. That or super mutants. Couldn't level up enough to be able to afford anything.

Like I said, not for lack of trying.

Maybe it's about the fact that those games aren't for everyone o: Maybe you like games with more concise objectives or storylines that don't involve such free roaming or exploration, IDK. For me I just get lost into this sea of exploration with so much to do. I absolutely love it!

I can't seem to get into fallout tho, lmao.

Fallout: New Vegas was amazing! Loved playing that growing up :)

I know exactly what you mean. Because I'm the same with Bethesda games. I never really gave Skyrim a chance, because I need at least a little red thread in role-playing games and I like to have an impressive and comprehensive story.

I certainly tried Fallout 3 6 times, but I lost interest every time shortly after the game started.

Another series of games I really tried were the Zelda games. Here, too, the spark of genius was never to be ignited. By far the longest I have held out with Manjoras Mask. Funnily enough I like the Gameboy Color games, like Four Seasons.

Ocarina of Time was the only one that held me for anything, and I've never gotten past the Water Temple. So there is that...

FIFA, all my friends love/loved it, I just couldn't enjoy it. I'd go round to play games with a few mates and it would always start with fifa, sport games i just can't do

I can see how that could be tough. If you're not into football/soccer, you won't enjoy sitting down and playing it.

only sport game i ever got into was NBA 2012 or something ridiculously old, otherwise i just cant do it. Then again my friends would also play cricket games, sooooo

That's me with NFL 2K on the Dreamcast. I could play that, and only that. I cannot get into any other football game.

Definitely don't blame you there - sports games are a breed of their own, indeed. I'd rather sit there and watch a basketball game than play NBA2k18!

Pokémon games, especially Pokémon Go. I just... I just can't get past the strange characters and childish premise. And when I want to exercise I go for a run, I don't walk while staring at my phone xD

I think that the best answer for this in my own personal game experiences, are the "Super Mario Bros" Series. And get a hold of your horses, I love me some Mario... Some Glorious 3D Mario. I can't deal with the 2D Titles, they just don't work for me.

I could say the same about Fallout but I've only tried like 5 minutes of New Vegas and the only comment I had was "Wtf is this shitty futuristic Skyrim with guns?" lol. I think that's about it!

Hmm, one game I can't seem to love as much is Pokemon Gold. It's beloved by so many people in the Pokemon community, but I just can't see what is so special about it. True, it did introduce and fix a lot of things from Red and Blue, but future games have those features but with more and better.
One thing that keeps me from loving it is that all of my favorite Pokemon are either unobtainable until post game, or are obtained through a specific random time on a specific day. That is convoluted and stupid.:P

Gold and Silver were famous for including the time of day. That was such a new and impressive phenomenon at the time, that it kind of holds that special place because of that. There's also a lot of nostalgia of going outside Kanto for the first time. Johto was a whole new world to explore!

True. But replaying Gold on the 3DS, Johto isn't that interesting of a region imo. But nowhere near as bad as Sinnoh, tho!

That's true. Sinnoh was a derp fest...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by slothyy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Driving games like Forza. They're gorgeous and I appreciate them on a lot of levels, plus I love racing and driving in real life... but somehow every time I try, I just end up in the decal/customize menus, and after about ten minutes of racing get bored AF. Great soundtracks still don't help, and engine/cabin noise gets grating as hell in game for some reason. I've got a full wheel/shifter/pedal setup to see if that would do it, tried things like N4S, Split Second and flashier, showier or gimmicky games, but it just never clicks. In fact, any game that has extended driving and racing components/missions tends to lose me, with the exception of vehicle driving in old Halo co-op.

The last one I remember spending much of any time in was Midnight Club 2, and I'm going to end up on some kind of watch list for saying this, because my buddies and I would use cheats to put the guns on the front of the cars, turn the pedestrian volume up to max, and then get drunk AF and launch ourselves off the louvre pyramid into crowds and blow each other up. Given today's political climate, it's cringey to admit. Those were simpler times.

Ahhh, Forza. I totally relate to what you're saying about how it can get boring quick - but, Forza Horizon was absolutely amazing, especially the drifting. And the soundtrack for it was just awesome, found so many unique artists that are still a part of my playlist to this day.

I've never really been a fan of Midnight Club Racing - it just, eh, never really appealed to me. But, if you seem to be the thrillseeking type in games, especially with what you just described, why not Grand Theft Auto? Open world, great soundtracks, so much to do, etc - the world is yours in that game. I love me some GTA! @CrimsonClad

insta-bored with GTA, every time. Yet I loved Crackdown? Go fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67