You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Escape from Dinosaur Island - Version 0.6 available now!

in #gamedev6 years ago

Hi there,

All these style games use a similar command set. Hopefully this brief description will set you on the right track.

Movement
To move around, just type the direction you want to go, directions can be abbreviated:
NORTH to N, SOUTH to S, EAST to E, WEST to W, NORTHEAST to NE, NORTHWEST to NW, SOUTHEAST to SE, SOUTHWEST to SW, UP to U, and DOWN to D. IN and OUT, ENTER and LEAVE will also work in certain places.

Object Interaction
Every item in the game can be EXAMINE'd, this will always provide you with a more detailed description of the object. In some cases it will also provide you with a clue to its usage. Other items can be used or combined to make new ones.

e.g. Examine Wreck - will do just that.

Other commands are:

LEVER object
SLEEP object
GET object
DROP object
THROW object

This adventure is an evolving puzzle, you will need to explore, to draw a map and to record the objects that you find. Try to look for clues and combine objects to make new ones.

The best top I can give is read the descriptions of both locations and objects carefully, there are plenty of clues tucked away!

I hope this helps!

Sort:  

How do I combine two items in my inventory, if that's possible? What word would I need? Is it combine? I'm having fun, I just suck at it because of the lack of experience in this.

EDIT: Please help, can't seem to make progress.

You could have used LEVER or Prise on the first puzzle. I did put a clue in the text referring to "provide some great leverage"...

The INVENTORY is a standard command in all of these games, it con be shortened to INV or even I.

As for combining items, there is a need to 'MAKE' something in one of the puzzles. The trick is to examine everything, and look for clues in the descriptions. e.g. to chop a tree down, you might need an AXE. You might have to MAKE and AXE.

I do need to work on the help screen, the whole game is a work in progress so there is a way to go yet.

I understand there are standard commands, I just don't know what it is. I tried googling but came up empty handed.

Thank you for telling me these keywords, I will try again.

I'm always happy to get feedback, ultimately it makes the game more playable.

"Lever" how would I ever guess that. I couldn't get past the first scene without knowing what key word the game wanted from me. PLEASE include "lever, sleep, get/take, drop and throw" on the ingame help. Also a heads up that "examine" can be used by itself.

Now I'm finally really getting started playing this.

EDIT: Luckily I managed to guess "inventory" is an action, too.

Have a look at this web page, it covers a lot of the basic commands that are used in interactive fiction games:

http://www.microheaven.com/ifguide/step3.html

I will. I didn't get back to the adventure yet, but I'm sure this will ease me in. I did get bitten by some dinos, I must say.

It wouldn't be 'Escape from Dinosaur Island' if they were all soft and cuddly!

Hi @felipejoys - I was just wondering how you got on and if you've made any progress with the adventure yet?

I'll try it again today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46