Arpago - my personal GameDev projectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gamedev6 years ago

I've been working on a game that I'd like to play for about 1,5 year now, and I really like what I created so far :)

The game is called Arpago, and it's a top-down action RPG, or a dungeon crawler, with a cartoony fantasy setting

The game is stylized for mid-90's era of early 3D games, with some modern touches here and there (as long as they don't interfere with overal aesthetic). I've made my own RPG stat system, using popular concepts as the base of it - Strength, Agility, Wisdom. There are 5 character classes for now, 3 playable races, a working combat system, user interface, several types of enemies, I've written already some lore regarding the world and its inhabitants, and I am currently building the world - an archipelago, called Arpago ;)

I am using Unity, and everything including programming, scripting, designing, graphics, and so on was done by me - only the soundtrack/sound effects will be 3rd party.

Gameplay could be compared to Egoboo, as this game was my largest inspiration, although expanded in several ways.

I've made a website where I put all devblog posts - http://arpago.eu - it mostly serves as a diary since there are no visitors there. Still, it's cool to have one!

And because a video says more than a thousand words, here are some links to gifvs!

http://arpago.eu/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/IceSpells2.webm?_=2

http://arpago.eu/wp-content/uploads/Armory_Inside.webm?_=3

http://arpago.eu/wp-content/uploads/QuestSystem.webm?_=1

http://arpago.eu/wp-content/uploads/trog-gameplay1.mp4?_=2

I am not counting on any popularity - as I said, I am making a game I'd like to play. There's no hurry, no deadlines, and I am having fun doing what I do :)

Thanks for reading, have a great day!

Sort:  

Cool :)

Personally I'm a fan of this low-poly art style, probably it has something to do with my age.

I'm looking forward to see more of Arpago :)

Thanks! I'll be sure to post news about it here :)

Great gamedev article. Resteemed :)

Looks so cool, art style and lighting is ace!

Thank you, it's really motivating to hear that :D

Excellent gamedev post. Shared :)

Really nice that this kind of games are still being developed also I hope there will be a 4k&144hz update(just a prank), maybe try to get it in steam greenlight?

Hey, thanks, as the game is built using Unity, then any resolution and refresh rate is possible, so funnily enough 4k&144Hz should work :)

Greenlight doesn't exist anymore, and there is Steam Direct (you can basically release the game after paying 100$)- when the game will be closer to release, I'll definitely look into it!

Really nice game espacially doing this all by your own. I never really got down with unity so I tried somthing more simple by my own. You can check it out if you like: https://steemit.com/gaming/@sn0w-fox/bitcoin-hacker-game-uplink-hacker-elite
If I have more time, I will have a closer look at your game!!!

Hey, thank you. Very cool idea, I've played hacker-themed game Dark Signs like 15 years ago which had text interface as well. Make sure to post updates!

Thanks for the hint, didn't knew Dark Signs. Maybe get some new ideas ;-)
Good luck for your project too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88