Gamedev: my first android game - Brick Duel

in #gamedev6 years ago (edited)

Hello, everyone! I'll tell you how I started making games for android and what I managed to achieve.
I was inspired by lots of stories on the forums about how schoolchildren earned hundreds of thousands of dollars by means of a miserable game or, vice versa, stories of "failures", such as "My second game failed completely, and during the first month earned only 1,000 dollars." I thought, if my game fails and I earn 1k dollars, then I'll just be happy and quit my job. Since I am just an average programmer, and I had to work alone, I decided to make games for Construct 2.

I was working on the first game, Brick Duel, for about a month and then, for about a month, I was improving it, adding a robot and fixing bugs. The emphasis of the game was precisely on the fact that this is an arkanoid for two people, which you can play on one smartphone. For some reason, it seemed like a smart idea to me and I was thinking of getting rich. After the release, I learned that if you do not pay wild money for advertising and fictitious downloads during the first month, then this game will remain somewhere in the backyards. I had no money for promotion and I decided to devote the whole next month to promotion. I spent days writing articles on different web-sites, making posts in groups in social networks and on forums, and got even more tired than while creating the game. The result of the first month is several hundred downloads and 70 cents of income. During the second month, there became more users and the income exceeded 1 dollar.
Arcduel2.jpg

I started making the next games and applications without posting any articles on the forums and they brought in about the same amount. But with each month the income grows, as there become more and more users. I hope someday it will be my main income.

P.S. I would like to read the comments of those who spent money on advertising during the last half of the year and how it ended, whether it paid off. Thank you in advance.

Here you can download the game Brick Duel

Sort:  

@fantasyman CONGRATULATIONS YOUR PUBLICATION HAS BEEN SHARED BY @Untapentuoreja, will be seen by 2272steemians.
If you find my project useful, donate a vote to my comment, it's free for you! :D I am not a robot.

Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fantasyman to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @fantasyman.

very interesting post....
thanks for sharing it...
upvoted and followed...!!!!!

Thank you. I appreciate your high estimate. I followed you, too. I also deal with cryptocurrencies, so I will definitely read your blog

Excellent gamedev article. shared 😇

Thank you. I follow you. I will try to join the community.

right on a Dev as me!

Congrats on the launch! It's always exciting to see growth from your first game forward. Hope it does well. Great trailer :D

Thank you. I have "score:22" in geekguy100.itch.io )
I wish you success

Former android dev here! I did not make it into game dev but I used to develop enterprise apps! Now I am just focused on web/hybirid development because it rocks! What engine you use to develop your games? DEfinetely you got a follower! Kee in touch to speak about software development!

I'm using Construct 2. I'm following you, thanks.

This post has received a 5.77 % upvote from @steemthat thanks to: @fantasyman. Thank you for your support. Stay Updated And Use Cool Tools At SteemThat.com Want Some Steemish Built On Ethereum? Get You Some!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28