So I finally bought Steam versions of RPG MAKER 2000 and 2003

in #gamedev7 years ago

RPG Maker was one of the first programs I ever used to make games, as soon as I found it on Humble Bundle I decided to buy it and finally have a legal version of the program.

Around 10 years ago, This was the first game development tool I used. the second game was Game Maker 7 (and I used Visual Basic before but it's not a game development program)

Making A Game.png

As a hobbist gamedev, I only play with game making tools, starting project after project but leaving most of them unfinished.... I'll probably won't make any big game... and making a smaller games (pixel art games) is easier with RPG maker 2000/2003 than the newer versions VX and MV.

Also for some reason I like playing pixel art games more than any game with good but inconsistent graphics. which are too many lately on Steam.

AhmadmangaIsBusy.png

While I haven't finished any project (the biggest one was 9 years ago), it still has a very big place in my heart.

The biggest project I made with RPG Maker 2003 before was in 2008 (I think?) where I made a game I titles CHRONO GATE that follows Chrono Trigger story (yup, there are many wrong this with that statement) with unoriginal characters and bad English... at the time I thought I was amazing!! I don't have a link to the game now... and it's files lost with my old-old PC. I spent more than 5 months (300 hours?) on this game, and I learned most of my Gamedev knowledge at the time while creating it. But the scope was too big for my beginner self.... and years later I've learned to keep my scope small.


Screenshot from my game Chrono Gate. Posted on Facebook in 2010
and taken from there now.

Now I have some ideas for New games to make with these programs, I wish to make a full game out of them one day.


Images are screenshots from RPG Maker.

You Know, it feels good to get the programs legally... even if you didn't know the problem you're causing when you first got them illegally.
Now lets get busy on something productive ~

Sort:  

Wow neato! I cannot wait to see what you make with it. I promise any game you make I will be the first to play it!

I am planning on getting the Humble Bundle as well, even though I own most of everything in it. I want to have a big giveaway when I reach 500 followers, and give away RPG Maker, Clickteam Fusion, DLC and games.

Good luck with your games! If you start using Ace, I can probably help you out if you hit any snags. I'm not familiar with many before that.

Also, that is good advice for all game devs: "But the scope was too big for my beginner self.... and years later I've learned to keep my scope small."

I already have Ace and made played with it a bit.... but I have this LOVE for retro style games. and making them with VX Ace is harder (not a lot harder though).

But the scope was too big for my beginner self.... and years later I've learned to keep my scope small.

Yep!! the best advice!!

Retro games are really cool. I have been buying more and more (when I buy games) on Steam. Are you working on any games right now? I'd be interested in posted screenshots and/or a devlog.

When I make something playable I'll post about it on discord... I wish that happens soon~

Oh cool, you're on Discord? are you on any of the game dev servers?

Not really a game dev server.. but the one for GameJolt if you know that website. (wait, it's technically a gamedev website too)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Ah yes, the good old RPG Maker. I spent almost two decades making games on this one. The first few games looked similar to yours. The amount of details increased and increased, games became more complex. The last game took me around 10 years to do, well it seems I never learned to keep the scope small.

Wow!! 20 years making games in this program (10 of them on one game?)... that's amazing!! hopefully I'll return to game making soon~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72