OST of the Day #36: Phoenix Wright: Trials & Tribulations - Pursuit 👨‍⚖️

in #game5 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

If you're unfamiliar with this series, basically I share a soundtrack and my thoughts about it, and I highly recommend listening to the song while reading! 😊

Wow I did not expect my previous post on Castlevania to blow up as much as it did! Thank you to all those who read, curated and upvoted; I really appreciate it! 😊

I was jammin' out to some classic Ace Attorney soundtracks and I thought I'd share one of my recent favourites today. It comes from the third instalment in the series, called Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Trials and Tribulations!

Image result for phoenix wright trials and tribulations"
Source: glitchwave.com

[I just realised I probably should've done a more spooky song since Halloween is only 2 days away but hey, nothing's scarier than lawyers amirite 😅]

Anyway, if you've never seen this game before, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney − Trials and Tribulations is a visual novel adventure video game developed and published by Capcom. It was originally released for the Game Boy Advance in 2004 in Japan, and has since been released on several platforms, including a Nintendo DS version that was released in 2007 in Japan and North America and in 2008 in Europe. It is the third game in the Ace Attorney series, following Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (2001) and Justice for All (2002).

Gameplay-wise, you play as a defense attorney named Phoenix Wright, where you investigate crime scenes and collect evidence to use to defend your clients in trials.

Image result for phoenix wright trials and tribulations"
Source: strategywiki.org

This game was directed and written by Shu Takumi as the last game in the Ace Attorney trilogy; he also wanted it to be the final entry in the series, as he felt he had explored Phoenix's character fully. Because he was satisfied with the gameplay in Justice for All, he did not introduce any new gameplay mechanics in Trials and Tribulations. Flashbacks were used as a major theme in the game; such as the very first case with Mia (Phoenix's mentor) when she was a rookie attorney.

I've never actually played this game, but I watched a Blind Let's Play of it from one of my favourite YouTubers; the lovely Lucahjin! She played through the AA trilogy completely blind (meaning she played it for the first time on camera), and she barely made any mistakes! Since I've never seen the game before it's quite entertaining watching her and figuring out the cases along with her as well. She's also a really great voice actor so I'd recommend checking her series out.

Image result for phoenix wright trials and tribulations"
Source: twipu.com

No spoilers, but from what I remember of this game, I'd say it was definitely the best out of the trilogy. It rounds off the AA series very well in the last case, giving closure to all the characters and their backstories. All the cases in this game were very well-written, as usual, and the soundtrack is amazing as always.

You'll hear a taste of it in the song for today, called Pursuit!

This song plays during the trial sequences when you have to cross-examine witnesses to find contradictions in their testimony. I believe it plays at the climax of the trial when you've presented some decisive evidence to dig up the truth from the witness.

You can already tell that this song is pretty darn epic from the get-go. The quick tempo provided by the snare beats and the constant humming of the bass in the background really get your heart pumping as you relentlessly question your witness in search of the truth. The higher pitched chiptune melody (and accompanying melody) also provide good contrast to the lower bass and percussion. There's just so many components in this song that blend together perfectly. My favourite part is during the bridge when the harmony comes in with sharp chords at 0:38; like you're hitting them hard with your ironclad arguments backed by evidence.

Image result for phoenix wright trials and tribulations"
Source: pinterest.com

I have actually posted about 2 songs from the first game previously; 1 called Objection and the other called Trial, quite a while ago but I love the soundtrack from the AA series soo much so I thought I'd revisit it. I skipped the second game not because the soundtrack from that one is inferior or anything; I just felt more into this particular song atm. I do plan on posting songs from the previous games; so these posts are in no way sequential.

Do check out the other songs like these in the series, called Cornered!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.steemblogs.club/2019/10/29/ost-of-the-day-36-phoenix-wright-trials-tribulations-pursuit-%f0%9f%91%a8%e2%80%8d%e2%9a%96%ef%b8%8f/

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #35: Castlevania - Vampire Killer

Sort:  

Cornered!

Next Halloween special - danganronpa

Hahah maybe! 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75