OST of the Day #54: Wii Sports Resort - Main Theme 🏝

in #game4 years ago (edited)

image.png
Source: Forbes

Hey Steemit!

If you're unfamiliar with this series, basically I share a soundtrack and my thoughts about it, and I highly recommend listening to the song while reading! 😊

I guess this month will all be island-related songs, since my current obsession right now is Animal Crossing: New Horizons! I actually recently started playing multiplayer so if you wanna trade some fruits or recipes hit me up (pssst anyone have any good turnip prices?)!

image.png
Source: Nintendo Life

Anyway, last week I wrote a song from Yoshi's Island, which was one of quite a few GBA games that are super nostalgic for me. So today I decided on another song from a very nostalgic game that also features an island, Wii Sports Resort!

image.png
Source: ebay

If you're not familiar with this game (that's a real shame), or you never owned a Wii, Wii Sports Resort was developed and published by Nintendo for the Nintendo Wii console, and is a direct sequel to Wii Sports. It was released in Japan on June 25, 2009 and in nearly all other regions in the following month. It is one of the first titles to require the Wii MotionPlus accessory, which was bundled with the game.

Wii Sports Resort is set in a beach resort on an archipelago named Wuhu Island. Twelve different sports are available to play, with some sports like Bowling and Golf returning from the original Wii Sports. But there are plenty of new sports such as Archery, Swordplay, Wakeboarding, Frisbee, Basketball, Canoeing, Cycling, Table Tennis and Air Sports. Like the original, the sports are each played by holding the Wii Remote (and in some cases, the Nunchuk) in a manner similar to the actual sport being replicated.

image.png
Source: US Gamer

The game was well received by game critics, praising the improved controls and graphics. The game is the third best-selling game on the Wii, after its predecessor Wii Sports and Mario Kart Wii, with 33.11 million copies sold worldwide.

Oh man this game is more than 10 years old now! This was my prime childhood right here. I absolutely loved Wii Sports, and when Wii Sports Resort came out, I knew I just had to get it too. And I'm so glad we did; because I spent many many hours playing each of the sports (although some more than others). I even really enjoyed the repeat sports like Bowling, because of the newer mechanics and modes they introduced.

image.png
Source: wired

I'm not sure which of the sports is my favourite tbh, because all of them are so charming in their own way. I might be more partial to Swordplay, Archery and Frisbee though, in terms of gameplay. But Air Sports is really relaxing; just flying around on top of Wuhu Island, and Cycling is pretty fun too (especially since I can't cycle irl).

Anyway, what I want to share today is the main theme of Wii Sports Resort!

This song plays on the title screen of Wii Sports Resort, and it's such a good song; definitely a level up from the original Wii Sports (hehe see what I did there).

You can already hear the distinction in the first 5 seconds of the song, with the really grand introduction courtesy of the timpani and trumpets. The song then goes into the main melody, which is admittedly more chill in pitch, thanks to the piano. But the drum beats and the woodwind harmony give it that unique spin to indicate this is a completely different world.

It still has that iconic Wii Sports jingle of course, and the harmony is still mostly the same, but I think the added instruments give it so much more depth and feel; fitting for the entirely new island we're on.

image.png
Source: chordify.net

I can't a video on it, but if you leave the title screen on for a little while, it pans around the island then zooms in to specific locations on the island where you can see different Miis hanging out at each of the sports' venues, like the basketball court or the arena. I always thought that was a pretty touch, and it was nice seeing all my different Miis together while listening to this awesome song.

image.png
Source: Amazon

The soundtrack was composed by Ryo Nagamatsu, who has also worked on other Wii games like Mario Kart Wii, New Super Mario Bros. Wii and Super Mario Galaxy 2. All of which feature amazing soundtracks as well, and are some of my favourite games on the Wii!

Did you ever play Wii Sports Resort? What was your favourite sport? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #53: SMW2: Yoshi's Island - Above Ground

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88