OST of the Day #52: Super Smash Bros. Ultimate - Animal Crossing Title Theme [Brawl]

in #game4 years ago (edited)

image.png
Source: wallpaperflare

Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

Sorry about the short hiatus last week, but I guess my schedule is back to the original one right now. I apologise since I had to miss an Art Attack, but with the jump to hive.blog and all that stuff going on, I had to take a break so I could make sure everything was all good for content creators (and tbh it gave me a break to play Animal Crossing New Horizons 😉). It's kinda a bummer too, since I just started using steempeak, but oh well. I hope Hive is even better next time!

image.png
Source: digistatement

Anyway, the highly anticipated Animal Crossing: New Horizons is finally out! I've literally been playing it everyday since launch; which I realise was just 3 days ago, but still. I've been having so much fun, and I really like all the new features they introduced. It's a lot more intuitive than I thought too. And the visuals look absolutely amazing! I can see a lot of ways for them to improve it already, but I can't wait for the Easter event soon (I haven chosen not to time travel like everyone else)!

The only thing I'm kinda bummed at is the music. If you've played the previous versions of Animal Crossing (the main series), you'll know that we used to have different songs for each hour of the day; meaning 24 songs in 24 hours. I'm not hearing that in New Horizons unfortunately. While I do love the game a lot, the music is also a really important aspect and I hope they'll add it in the future!

image.png
Source: newyorker

Anyway, speaking of music, I thought I'd share another Animal Crossing rendition to celebrate the release of New Horizons!

The song I chose for today comes from Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, which is probably the vastest contrast to the tone of Animal Crossing, but since Villager and Isabelle joined the battle, you'll find songs from Animal Crossing in Smash too!

image.png
Source: wallpapersafari

If you're unfamiliar, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (SSBU) is a 2018 crossover fighting game developed by Bandai Namco Studios and Sora Ltd. and published by Nintendo for the Nintendo Switch. It is the fifth installment in the Super Smash Bros. series, succeeding Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS and Wii U. The game follows the series' traditional style of gameplay: controlling one of the various characters, players must use differing attacks to weaken their opponents and knock them out of an arena.

But the super cool thing about Ultimate is that it features over 80 playable fighters, including everyone from all previous Super Smash Bros. games, alongside several newcomers. The roster ranges from Nintendo mascots to characters from third-party franchises, with the game being supported with post-release downloadable content that adds more. Every time a new character is announced is a huge thing for Smash players, as everyone has their own guesses to who's gonna be included, and the trailers are always top notch.

image.png
Source: reddit

Anyway, here's the song I chose for today!

So this song is the remix of the first Animal Crossing's theme. Technically, its from the Animal Crossing stage (called Smashville) in Super Smash Bros. Brawl, that is also in Ultimate. I believe this song is only found on the Animal Crossing stages in SSBU; which are Smashville along with Tortimer island. There are quite a few good remixes in SSBU but I decided on this one because it has that quintessential Animal Crossing feel, but with a faster tempo and more beats to give it that Smash Bros. spin. And Brawl is really nostalgic for me too.

image.png
Source: smashbros-ultimate

I don't know about you, but the first 10 seconds of this song always reminds me of Wii Sports for some reason. But then it goes straight into the Animal Crossing theme by the acoustic guitar, with that funky beat in the background. There's even a cool galactic sounding electric piano for the harmony. The song kinda transitions a into the Market Place/Town Hall tune for a little bit before repeating the main theme again.

I really like this particular remix, but I can see how an even more upbeat version (like the Ultimate remix) would be more suitable for Smash, because of the intense fights. But to just listen to though, I prefer this version.

I'm not sure who composed this particular song exactly, since there are hundreds of songs and I read that the score was composed through a collaboration of 38 renowned video game composers. But they all did an amazing job!

Thanks so much for reading! Time to get back to my island!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Check out my previous post in this series!

OST of the Day #51: Ori and the Blind Forest - The Waters Cleansed 💧

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80