My Disappointment with Bioware and not Mass Effect

in #game7 years ago

and why I will not be buying Anthem when it comes out.

In the spirit of full disclosure I do not buy games when they are new as a general rule. With two notable exceptions Assassin's Creed and Mass Effect. I followed Mass Effect Andromeda for so long. I used to joke that it was my "reason for living". When it came out I gladly paid full price, and I got a great game. I loved it.

No, my love was not blind. I saw the glitches. Still Bioware did not let me down by any means. I was hooked from the get go.

BUT THEN...

I was so disappointed by the so called "fan base" and their constant cabitching about nothing very significant. Total first world problems that only snowflakes would worry about. It seems to me that most of the noise was from vloggers that needed the click bait that complaining about the game created. As such they made significant noise and destroyed the sales for this incredible game.

Bioware responded by frequent updates, that were notable improvements. My hats off to them.

So just to review, I Loved the game, I loved the upgrades. I looked forward to more, and this is where I think Bioware crossed me.

...IN THE END...

It seems that there will be no DLC, and the Mass Effect game development has been tabled for now. This gives me strong buyers remorse.

Now, here comes Anthem.

It appears to be a first rate game, but I wont be buying it when it comes out. Though I might have, and part of me still wants to, but once burned, twice shy. Cause as good as it looks the vlogging snowflakes will complain about it. Their business model almost guarantees that. Will they drive the sales of Anthem sales into the dirt? Will I be able to pick up a copy second hand for $20 within just a few weeks? Yeah, all of that seems likely to happen. Worse Bioware might just shelve the project and waste all of our time.

So I will be waiting for the after market price, Bioware, and I am sure there will be others too. I cannot trust you to follow through with your promise, and until I can trust you, that will hurt your sales.

WHAT TO DO...

I do hope you will return to Mass Effect. Keep your obligation to the players that love your game, and we'll gladly support your work going forward. Start with MEA DLC. Then do a reboot if you want. Let's fight the First Contact War, or something altogether different...I'll be there to buy it the day it drops. If you change your strategy quick, I might just pick up Anthem too.

Sort:  

Wanna play this game

Athem looks pretty bad to be honest and it is going to have mind blowing, bloated price tag which every game seems to have nowadays. Also since BioWare is owned by EA you can expect a plethora of DLCs.
I also hope that they carry on with Mass Effect since it is probably my most favourite series and it would be the worst if it died @neopatriarch

If by "bad" you mean totally awesomely awe inspiring, I agree.

All games start the sales cycle bloated. It just makes sense from a marketing strategy. After all a commodity is only worth what the market will bear. What's too high, and not too low? Gotta make money after all. Discovering that sweet spot is the tough part.

I am a little worried about the single player storyline. Well just have to wait and see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79